The Next Greatest Generation?

This was the title of the TED talk I recently listened to on the topic of the Millennial generation. Those born between 1980 and 2000 are considered to be in this generation that we’ve been hearing so much about. The “lazy, selfie obsessed, and still living with their parents” generation. Being a twenty-something myself and currently living with my parents, I took this pretty personally.

I’m aware. Man, am I aware.

I moved back in with my parents last March. I was working as a personal trainer with long hours, poor pay, no benefits, and no respect. I got burnt out pretty quickly. I was living alone in a studio apartment with no social life to speak of. I wasn’t happy and felt so stuck. After two years at this job, I decided that when my lease was up in the spring, I’d quit my job and move back in with my parents. I would work part-time at a private personal training studio and work towards getting my certification in Holistic Health Coaching through the Institute of Integrative Nutrition.

It’s been 8 1/2 months already and I am so glad that I made the decision I did. I had to swallow my pride and realize that my financial situation wouldn’t get better if I didn’t have help. But, the feeling of anxiety and worry has crept up again. What next?

This decade of my life has been one of constant transition. After graduating from college I went to South Korea to teach English for a year. Then I decided to work and travel in Australia for 3 months. I came home and lived with my parents for 3 months before getting my job as a personal trainer and staying at that job for 2 years. This brings me to now. I’m still trying to figure it out. I’m at that state of transition again. Where do I go from here? Where should I live next? What job should I pursue?

I feel alone in this pursuit most of the time. The majority of my friends are in  a steady career, married, have houses, dogs, and looking forward to kids in a couple years. I am so far away from this path. I might not ever be on that path.

But after listening to this TED talk I realized that there is no set path in life. Even when it seems like there is a very distinct, clear one that everyone must follow and there’s quite a bit of pressure to do so… be true to yourself and pursue your passion. We get one life and I plan to blaze my own trail even if it’s unsteady and unsure at times.

“Tell me, what is it you plan to do with your one wild and precious life?”

1 thought on “The Next Greatest Generation?”

Leave a Reply

