Perfectionism=Procrastination

I always thought that being a perfectionist prevented me from ever procrastinating. When I was young I never had to be told to finish my homework before I could play outside. It was the first thing I did when I got home from school. I held myself to a high standard and made sure to always do my homework, get assignments done early, and study a little bit every night. I never leave dirty dishes for the next day. My apartment was spotless. I meal prepped for the week on Sunday. However, I’m beginning to think my perfectionism has gotten the best of me.

This morning while listening to my IIN lectures from Stacey Morgenstern and Carey Peters, I realized that their words where hitting home for me. I’ve been telling myself that there really wasn’t any use trying to get clients and establish myself as a health coach since I plan on moving locations. I don’t have my newsletter up and running yet. I really should do a workshop but I loathe public speaking. I’m not sure I know enough to be dispensing advice. Well, you get the point. I had excuses and there it was, procrastination. My tendency toward perfectionism was preventing me from getting out of my comfort zone and taking a risk. In their lecture, Stacey and Carey mention that there is no such thing as being perfect; it’s an illusion. There are three specific reasons for perfectionism;

1. It’s a good excuse for procrastination.  Something outside of myself isn’t ready so I’m not ready.

2. The illusion of control

3. When we want everything to be perfect;  we won’t take risks.

Perfectionism lets you stay safe and I have to start “exchanging perfect for good enough.” What have you realized you’ve been making excuses for until the conditions are ‘perfect’? Have you been putting off changing careers because you aren’t sure you have the skills/education to do so? Do you want to start training for a marathon in the spring but not sure you can commit? Are you waiting to see if you get a raise before you plan that trip? You do know enough. You have the time to train. You can afford to go away. Now, today, is a good time.

Perfectionism has been getting the best of me lately. What about you? I know what I need to do and I’m going to start making steps TODAY that will help me embrace the discomfort.

“Perfectionism is a 20-ton shield that we lug around thinking it will protect us when, in fact, it’s the thing that’s really preventing us from being seen and taking flight.” –Brene Brown

What have you been procrastinating lately?

Leave a Reply

