Jar full of memories

Jar of 2014 memories

“Gratitude is the open door to abundance.”-Yogi Bhajan

As part of my goals for 2014 I wanted to begin a practice of gratitude and mindfulness. When the new year began and I was reflecting on what my memorable moments were, what I was proud of, challenges I had, and lessons I had learned; I realized that I had forgotten a lot of the day-to-day great moments. I couldn’t remember what had made me laugh the most, the most delicious meal I had eaten, the best movie I’d seen, the book I enjoyed reading the most, funny quotes that were said, etc. I decided that this year would be different. This year I would write down those moments I didn’t want to forget, even if it was just a funny thing that was said, a compliment that was given, or the best sweet potato fries shared with friends. On December 31st of this year, I’ll have a jar full of memories I can look back on and read, remember, laugh, and be thankful.

After I graduated college, time seemed to start moving at a rapid pace. Weeks would fly by, months would come and go, and before I knew it, I was a year older and had absolutely no idea how I had gotten there. This practice is my small attempt at slowing down the rapid pace of life. I want to become mindful of the tasks that I choose to fill my day with and stop taking for granted the life I’ve been blessed with.

It’s not too late to start this gratitude practice! Just grab any old jar, can, or box and start writing down your memorable moments from January and first week of February. Being grateful for what you have already will attract more good things into your life!

Happy Monday!

Leave a Reply

