Remaining neutral

we don't see the world as it is. we see the world as we are.

As I was reading a blog on mental blocks, this bit of wisdom stuck with me. This week I found that I allowed others’ actions to affect my emotions and general attitude more than usual. I would get frustrated and irritated when a family member wouldn’t follow my heart-felt recommendation. I felt exceedingly angry when a friend fell back into a bad habit. I took others’ actions personally. I let it affect my entire outlook on my day and what was going on around me. Suddenly, the world went from being a fun and wonderful place to a dark, lonely one.

While voicing my frustrations to my pastor last week, she challenged me to “remain neutral.” What I want for someone and what they want for themselves is completely different. I can’t control someone else’s actions. I needed to allow the ones that I loved to be themselves, and love them anyway. It wasn’t personal when a family member ignored my concerns for their health. It had nothing to do with me when a friend found herself back in a destructive relationship. I couldn’t do anything about it. It was a hard pill to swallow.

My challenge this week, and pretty much the rest of my life, is to “remain neutral.” Try not to let others’ actions get me down and affect the way I see the world.  When I focus on my goals, what I’m looking forward to, and what I can control, it seems that the world is full of possibilities and promise.  I can provide support and help if needed, but in all cases, try to love others as they are. It will be a constant struggle and I might fail the majority of the time. However, keeping these words of wisdom in my heart will be of some comfort. “If I want to be loved as I am, I have to love others as they are.” -Louise Hay

Happy Monday!

2 thoughts on “Remaining neutral”

Leave a Reply

