Balance

Happy Tuesday! I hope you had a wonderful long weekend! This weekend was perfect. The weather was sunny and warm, I was able to spend time with my favorite people in the world, slept in, went on a couple runs, played tennis, and spent Monday morning at CrossFit which, in my opinion, is the best way to spend a morning. I wasn’t on social media. I checked my email significantly less. I read outside. I enjoyed just not having any agenda. It was glorious.

And part of me felt pretty guilty for it. I couldn’t shake the feeling that I should be doing something productive. I should be searching for job opportunities, or looking for apartments, or even writing up a proposal that’s been on my plate for a few days. Every day I thought about my to-do list and all the things that I absolutely must get done.

balancesource

Balance will always be incredibly important to me. I strive to find a balance among all the priorities in my life. But sometimes it’s impossible. Last week was busy for me and some things fell by the wayside. I didn’t cook, or sleep a full 8 hours every night, or get to relax and read as much as I wanted. But I worked a bit more, made an excellent contact for future work opportunities, was productive and completed all the things on my to-do list each day.

Perfect balance may not ever be achievable. But maybe that is true balance. Being aware of where you are in life, knowing what’s important to you at that point in time, and prioritizing your time to get to where you want to be. Things that were important a month ago may not be important to you now. Realizing that fact, understanding that what you spend your time on may shift, and allowing yourself grace to let that be OK is key.

take timesource

When I was in Australia, eating healthy constantly and working out every day became less of a priority to me. My priorities shifted to making enough money to support the travel I wanted to do. I realized that at that point in my life, what was important to me was seeing new places, meeting new people, and soaking up every experience I could. I knew that when I returned home, my priorities would shift again, and that was perfectly OK.

So this weekend, despite having my to-do list in the back of my mind, I’m glad I was able to kick back, relax, and enjoy the company around me. Realizing that my priorities would shift when Tuesday rolled around and I would get back to being productive helped my worry diminish.

I hope you have a great week and are able to achieve your balance 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

