Expectations and life

When I moved back to my hometown and back in with my parents, I thought my life had taken a terrible turn for the worse. It’s not how I had pictured where I’d be when I was 26 years old. I had goals and expectations for myself and life wasn’t turning out the way I had planned. I sulked for a few months and felt bad for myself. I wasn’t sure how long I would live with my parents and stay in my hometown, but I was sure that I wasn’t going to enjoy it at all. And then, things changed.

in between goalsimage

I liked where I worked, who I worked for, and the clients I trained. I decided to try CrossFit which opened up a whole new community. I met some great people and made friends. I enjoyed taking classes online and developed my passion for wanting to help others lead healthier, happier lives. Months flew and before I knew it, a year had gone by.

While on a walk with my mom Friday evening,  I mentioned how worried I had been about making the decision to move back home and she said, “It didn’t turn out as bad as you thought it would, did it?” It actually turned out better than I could have ever imagined. I learned a big lesson this past year-attitude is everything. Life doesn’t have to suck.

I began to realize that I had nothing to sulk about and everything to be grateful for. I was blessed with a loving, supportive family, amazing friends, a house to go home to, food to eat, and freedom to make my own choices about how I want to live my life. I had been incredibly thankless a year ago and it affected my outlook on life.

everything will be okimage

I also had to come to terms with life taking a different turn that I had expected, but all wasn’t lost. I believe that there is a greater plan for each of us and we aren’t always let in on it. We just have to do our best with what we are given at the moment, and keep moving in the direction of our passion. This wasn’t easy to figure out-I’m still figuring it out and probably always will be-but I know that life is something to be lived and enjoyed, not simply endured.

On that note, I hope you are looking forward to this week and have some fun things on the docket. Happy Monday!

 

 

Leave a Reply

