Five Things Friday 6.13.14

beach chairsource

Happy Friday! How is June going by so quickly? I want to just freeze time so I can soak up every hour of sunshine and perfect weather. I hope your week was awesome and that you are looking forward to a weekend of fun things with your favorite people. Five things I’m thankful for this week:

1. Reading-I just finished with “This is Where I Leave You” by Jonathan Tropper and I absolutely loved this book. I couldn’t wait to have some down time to pick it up again. It has been adapted into a film which will be coming out in the fall. It’s about an estranged family who is brought together by the passing of their father and they are forced to sit shiva for 7 days. Their relationships with each other are broken, complicated, and messy and as the week progresses, every issue seems to come into focus. It’s relatable, funny, and honest. Definitely put this one on your reading list for the summer.

2. The people I get to spend my mornings with-Dragging myself out of bed at 5 AM is never easy but I’m always so glad that I do. I get to laugh and work out with all around awesome people. It starts my day off on such a positive note.

3. Slowly figuring stuff out-I’ll never have everything figured out, ever. But, at this moment in time, I’ve been slowly making gains on figuring out what the next step may hold. And for that, I’m thankful.

4. Trader Joe’s Sea Salt and Turbinado Sugar Dark Chocolate Almonds-completely addicting and amazing. Enough said.

5. My dad-Because Father’s Day is Sunday, I thought about how lucky I am to have my dad around. He thinks I’m absolutely ridiculous most of the time but he makes me laugh, can fix anything, whistles on key to any song, and puts up with my sisters and I when we get together and laugh “too loudly.”

 

Favorite Links:

13 Signs You’re Allowed to be Happy Right Now

20 No-Cook Vegetarian Meals for Hot Summer Days

Now is Not Forever-This post really resonated with me. A good read and something to keep in mind. I think everyone can relate to this in some way.  “Due to the nature of life itself—change—and with the help of significant work on my part, the current “weather” in my emotional life was only partly cloudy, not a hurricane. However, I had become so accustomed to my newfound peace that I expected perfection rather than stability.”

What are your five things this week? Have a fun weekend and a happy Father’s Day!

Leave a Reply

