Five Things Friday 6.20.14

white flowersimage

Happy Friday! How was your week? I was actually a day behind this week so I feel like Friday came on very quickly. I have no big plans for the weekend either so we’ll see how the days unfold. I hope you are taking advantage of every June day as much as you can. I hate being reminded how fast summer seems to go but taking a look at a calendar this week had me in a slight panic! I have so much I want to do and so little time, or so it seems. Here are the five things I’m grateful for this Friday:

1. Electricity-Something I take for granted every day until a storm comes through and knocks out the power all morning. Showering in the dark, going to an interview in wrinkly clothes and wet hair, and not being able to make a decent breakfast threw my day for a loop. However, it was a wake-up call how incredibly dependent I am on modern conveniences. I would be completely SOL in the event of an EMP.

2. New Music Tuesday playlist on Spotify-I love being able to check out new artists and songs every week on Spotify. It has me excited for Summerfest in Milwaukee which starts next week already!

3. A life update from my cousin in Australia-Hearing from her made my day and I love that we reconnect every so often to see what’s going on each other’s lives.

4. Lunch with my sister-Meeting up with her after my interview this week and sitting outside while cracking up over work stories was fun. I am excited to move soon and be able to make this a regular occurrence.

5. Living in a free country-This is easy to take for granted every day as well; but reading about the violence going on in other countries right now makes me think about how very lucky I am to have been born in a country where I’m allowed to live my life the way I want. I never have to think twice about what I’m allowed to read, what religion I want to practice, what I’m allowed to say or not say, what to wear, or having to live in fear for my life every day. So even on a bad day, it could always be worse, much worse.

Favorite Links:

27 Things You Won’t Regret When You’re Older

10 Ways You’re Making Your Life Harder Than It Has To Be

On Waiting For Something Better

Chocolate Peanut Butter Smoothie and Coconut Chocolate Chunk Cookies with Sea Salt-I could be wrong, but I think everyone’s weekend would be even better with these two included.

Enjoy your weekend and Happy First Day of Summer on Saturday!

 

Leave a Reply

