Love and Food

It’s Monday! I hope you had an awesome 4th of July weekend and are feeling refreshed to start this week off. I’m not entirely ready for Monday myself, but writing this post made it more bearable because it’s one of my favorite topics-food!

It’s hard to pinpoint when my passion for food began; but growing up I was blessed with a mom who cooked every evening and believed in the necessity of family dinners. It wasn’t just about the food of course, it was the only time of day when our entire family could get together, talk about our days, share funny things that happened, and vent about whatever it was that was frustrating us. When we left for college, my twin sister and I brought this tradition with us. We meal prepped on the weekends, figured out who would cook on what days, and went grocery shopping with our roommate. One of us would cook, we’d eat and talk for hours about classes and work, and then do the clean up together. It was my favorite time of day. Cooking and good quality food became an essential part of my life. As I learned more about nutrition and the effects food has on the body, I experimented with different recipes, followed food blogs, tried out different ethnic restaurants, collected various kitchen appliances, and then was able to try out obscure foods as I traveled. I fell in love with kimchi, bibimbap, and naengmyeon in Seoul. Ate the best sushi in Australia and Japan and had a love affair with gelato and pasta in Rome.

julia childsource

I believe that falling in love with food again would be a great start to solving our obesity epidemic. I think too often good quality food isn’t a priority in our lives. Working long hours, getting home late, and having nothing to eat at home forces us to go elsewhere for our meals. And then we’re no longer in control of what is in our food and often don’t even take the time to enjoy eating it. Making cooking and good food a priority again would remind us how much joy food can bring. It won’t be something that we curse, over analyze, or regret. It’ll become something that we see as nourishing, essential, and wholesome. Taking the time to find recipes that you can’t wait to try, going to farmers’ markets and buying locally, planting herbs and vegetables, becoming part of a CSA, or making it a point to try out a new restaurant each month will spark our love for real food again.

Figuring out what we love to cook, what works well with our body, what doesn’t, and finding a balance with it all is imperative. We only get one body and one life. I know that I don’t want to waste time eating food that leaves me feeling fatigued, heavy, and all-around miserable. It’s not worth it. I want to eat food that fuels my life and the demands I place on my body. I want to be excited about food and what it can do for me, try different recipes, and always have a passion for clean eating and sharing it with others.

Here are a couple things I can’t wait to try:

Beet Green Pesto Pizza with Roasted Beets and Goat Cheese

Farro Greek Salad with Feta and Dill

Tomato Gazpacho with Mango and Cucumber

Brownie Batter Spread -This looks amazing! I hope my food processor is up to the challenge 🙂

I hope you have a wonderful week full of great food!

 

 

1 thought on “Love and Food”

Leave a Reply

