Take the leap

jump insource

Happy Monday! I know Mondays can be rough but I hope you’re excited for the week ahead and had an awesome weekend! This weekend flew by once again and I had a lot of fun spending time with my family, CrossFit friends, and getting some down time to recharge.

Over the weekend I had a conversation about feeling confined in life and how it prevents us from doing what we really want to do. The saying goes that we are confined only by the walls we build ourselves. I have felt restricted by money, career opportunities, my indecisiveness, and fear of making the wrong choice. When I take a closer look at these, I noticed that these restraints aren’t entirely valid. These actually are limitations I’ve placed on myself to prevent me from taking the leap into the unknown. They are my excuses for not living out what it is I actually want to do.

We can’t put our lives on hold due to the walls we build up. We think we have time. Travel when we retire. Attend grad school next year. Start our own business after staying in the job we hate for five more years. And so goes life. Before we know it, it’s passed. And now we have regrets for what could have been.

I’ve seen this with a lot of clients over the years. They get stuck in the monotony of every day and never make steps towards their dreams and goals. They know what they want to do, what life would look like, how they would feel, and what it would take to get there. But then it remains just a thought. A plan. And nothing more.

Question what confines you. Do the research. Map it out. Put a deadline on it. Tell others your plan. Then go for it. You’ll figure it out as you go. Because making a big life change is terrifying. But even more terrifying? Looking back on life and having regrets. So take the leap.

Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

