Transition

seasource

It’s Monday already! How was your weekend? I’m not quite ready for the week to start yet. I could have used an extra day this weekend. It went by so quickly and there wasn’t a whole lot of down time to just sit, read, or nap. However, it was a great summer weekend of CrossFit friends, family, and good food so I can’t really complain. The weather was perfect and it’s becoming evident that the days are getting shorter and the nights are getting a bit cooler. I wish August would take it’s time and stay around longer. I’m just not quite ready for it to be the last month of summer 😦

There has been one topic that seems to be reoccurring not only in my life but in the lives of people around me as well. Everywhere I look, someone is in the midst of wanting to make a change and they find themselves in the in-between. I’ve seen friends in all the different phases of transition. Some realize they are unhappy and have been for a long time. They know they need to make a change but aren’t ready to do so. Some have acknowledged that they want to make a change and are researching their options. Some are paralyzed in fear of figuring out what to do next. While others have made the decision, researched, made a plan, and are carrying it out.

choicessource

I was recently asked in an interview, “It seems like you’ve made some interesting moves in your life since college, what would you say has helped you make those decisions?” Without hesitation, I have been lucky enough to feel a pull in one direction or the other. Usually, the one that scares me, challenges me, or undoubtedly feels right even when I can’t put it into words why it does, is the path I choose. When I was faced with attending grad school or moving to South Korea to teach English after college, I knew without a doubt which one would pull me out of my comfort zone and test my limits. I was terrified. And that’s how I knew it was the path I would take.

Once again, I’m in the in-between and I’m praying for that feeling of being pulled or lead to the next phase of my life. After being on several interviews, I have yet to feel this sense of being lead. Each option has been OK. It could work. But each one has lacked something. I can’t put it into words exactly. But, what I do know is that when I feel that pull, it’ll be the path I choose. And unfortunately, I can only be patient until I do.

I hope that you are able to follow your instincts and your heart. Have a wonderful week!

 

Leave a Reply

