When to take a break

relaxsource

Another Monday already! How was your weekend? I hope it was wonderful and you’ve got a great week ahead! I had fun this weekend reuniting with friends and watching awesome CrossFitters compete on Sunday in Chicago. But it was a lot of driving and when I got home on Sunday evening I was completely drained.

I have realized lately that I’m tired. A lot. I wake up at 5 am most days of the week. I try to get to bed by 10 pm every night. And it’s not enough for me. I’m exhausted.

I wouldn’t say I’m busy. Everyone is busy. But I feel like I’m being stretched. Sometimes a bit too thin. I make to-do lists daily. Everything on my list is something I want to do. I don’t dread any of the projects I’m working on, or blogging, or working, or health coaching. I love it all. But I’m realizing that even though I love what I do, I am still allowed to be tired. I still have to check in with myself. I love helping others reach their goals and I stress self-care all the time with my clients. But I know I have been letting myself slip by with too little rest and carelessness on making sure that my body gets the nutrition it needs.

Sometimes we don’t realize the amount of stress we’re under. We internalize it and deal with it the best we can. But stress has a way of making our bodies feel heavy, fatigued, and sore. We will feel run down and not ourselves. Listening to these signs can be incredibly challenging when our heads are telling us to press on. Just one more workout for the week. Just a bit more caffeine. Just one more project. We keep taking on more regardless of how overwhelmed we already feel.

restsource

We’ve all been there. And we all know what happens when we push it for too long. Our bodies push back. We get sick and we’re forced to take a break.

I’m trying my best to listen to my body this month and take breaks when my body is telling me to do so. It’s not easy. In fact, because of the high expectations we place on ourselves, taking a break sometimes can feel like we’re going against everything in our being. But I know that if I don’t cool it for a bit, my body will force it upon me and if it gets to that point, I’ll be taking a longer break that I ever would have wanted.

I hope that as August winds down, you are allowing yourself breaks and taking time off work if you are feeling burned out. Soak up these last weeks of summer, treat your body to some much-needed rest, and recharge for the change of the season.

Leave a Reply

