If Not Now

Happy Monday! How did your weekend go? The weather here was perfect, in every sense. I made sure to enjoy it the best I could by getting out for a short run, spending time at Union Terrace in Madison, walking around State Street, and finally going for a bike ride. This weather does wonders for my spirit and I was thankful for the time that I had outside the past couple days. I hope you had a wonderful weekend outside as well and it rejuvenated you for the week ahead.

As I sat down to write this post, initially I had no idea what I wanted to write about. Usually I know what I’d like to blog about before Sunday comes along, but not so much this time. I started thinking about what holds us back from expressing ourselves honestly or what prevents us from doing what we set out to do. This weekend, I had every intention of sitting down and making edits to a project I’ve been working on. It was pushed to the side  and now it has carried over into today. Over the weekend, time seemed to get away from me. Being outside and enjoying the fresh air and sunshine took priority over working on a project. And I decided that that was OK. I would get this project done within a timely manner and I could allow myself some leniency. The weather won’t continue to be this perfect forever and I needed to take advantage of it now.

alice walkersource

Procrastinating on a project for the sake of doing something that made my soul happy was OK for me at the time. But what about procrastinating on the things that we know will bring us joy, health, and fulfillment? Why do we put those things on the back burner? Why would we put off going on a run when we know that our stresses of the day will dissipate when we go? Why would we put off meal prepping and grocery shopping on the weekend when we know it would set us up for a week of easy, healthy meals? Why would we put off going on a trip of a lifetime when we know that traveling will never be a regret?

Because it will be effort. It will be time. It will be money. And at times, there will be fear. But ultimately, is it a priority? When we’re ready for a change and we’ll do anything to make that change happen, priorities will come into clear focus. Suddenly, we don’t care how much time, energy, effort, and money it will require. Because those things don’t matter. Making a change matters. Being happy matters. And the rest we’ll figure out along the way. Now becomes our only option. Not tomorrow. Not next month. This very moment is when we’ll start to put the gears in motion.

So I guess what I’m saying here is, if you know you could be doing more to bring joy, love, and passion into your life, don’t put it on the back burner any longer. Do it now. Because there will never be a good time. You will always be busy. You could always save just a bit more money. Life will be crazy and stressful. Stuff will happen that will pull you in a million different directions. Don’t give yourself a way out. The question to remember to ask is, if not now, when? Personally, I know that I don’t have a good answer. So now, it is.

Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

