True friendship

It’s Monday already! How was your weekend? I’m starting to realize that weekends without any real plans are the best ones. You can do whatever it is you feel like doing without a time frame. It’s glorious! I worked Saturday morning, went on a walk, out to lunch, baked pumpkin bars, reunited with friends over delicious food and lots of laughs, slept in, grocery shopped, and before I knew it, it was Sunday evening! I hope you enjoyed every minute of your weekend and did the things you love too.

On Saturday evening I was able to reunite with friends, one of which is visiting from living abroad for the past year and a half. The four of us ate dinner on the porch, drank wine, enjoyed a perfect fall evening, and laughed so hard there was a solid 20 seconds of silence before we all were able to laugh with sound again. The evening was refreshing and one that fills your soul up with so much love, happiness, and gratitude for the kind of friendship that withstands the test of time.

friendshipimage

These women are beautiful, intelligent, successful, adventurous, caring, and always supportive. They inspire me to be a better person and offer kind words when I express frustrations with my career (or lack thereof). When we get together, even if it’s been a week or a year, we pick right back up where we left off. It feels as though no time has passed. We dive right into what we’ve been up to, laugh over stories from high school, discuss our future plans and trips, and how we all feel about turning 28 this year. Since high school our lives have pulled us into several different directions but I take comfort in nights like these, where we can all gather again and talk for hours as if we just saw each other yesterday.

I think having a support system of people that love you, listen to you without judgement, want to see you happy and successful, and support you in any way they can is one of the most important factors to living your best life. I know without a doubt that I would not have accomplished many things in my life without the support of my family and friends. I couldn’t do it alone and I know that I don’t have to either. I have others I can lean on, ask for help, and help me process things.

This weekend made me even more thankful for that support system I have in place. Even though my bank account is in a sad state, I’m still living my parents, and I’m nowhere near where I thought I would be at 27 (28 only a couple weeks away); I do have the best family and hilarious, wonderful friends to get me through it all.

Who are the people that make your life happier? Have a great week!

 

Leave a Reply

