Joy of reading

fall trailIt’s Monday! How was your weekend? We had perfect, warm fall weather and I tried to take advantage of it the best I could. I took this photo really quick on a bike ride Sunday morning because I thought it captured the morning flawlessly-quiet, sunny, and gorgeous. This is my favorite time of year and I only wish it would stick around longer than it does. I hope you were able to get out and enjoy the outdoors too!

Lately I’ve come across two articles covering the topic of reading and how our brains are adapting to become “Twitter brains.” We search and skim over most articles for key points and no longer take in full sentences. High school students are having difficulty reading the classics assigned to them because of the complicated prose and sentence structure, which is something we aren’t used to reading on a daily basis. After reading this article on the Washington Post, I knew I was completely guilty of not picking up an actual book in weeks. I just realized that the book I checked out from the library is due this week and I hadn’t gotten past page 11.

I love reading. I read every day. But all of the reading that I do is from a screen. I read countless blog posts and articles from Twitter. However, too much skimming is involved when I read from a screen. It’s been awhile since I’ve finished a book. I’m embarrassed of this and know that this is something I want to change.

While meeting up with friends a few days ago, I noticed that one of my girl friends had brought a book with her and I immediately wanted to know what she was reading. She had several pages marked already and I could tell that this book had meant something to her. It was Mary Oliver’s “New and Adapted Poems” and she shared two of her favorites with me. I loved that she was carrying around a real book. I also loved that she wasn’t skimming it, she was truly reading it and getting something out of each page.

The poem she shared with me was “Wild Geese” and it’s a poem that can resonate with absolutely everyone. I knew why it was one of her favorites and I was so thankful that she reminded me of my joy for reading and making a connection with the author’s story. One of the great things about poems is that I can never just read them once. I have to read them several times to really understand the meaning. It inspired me to want to read from a page and not a screen. This poem made me slow down, stop skimming, and comprehend the message the author wanted to share.

wild geesesource

I hope that this poem inspires you to slow down, re-read, contemplate, and pick up a book you’ve been meaning to read for awhile now. Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

