Comfortable

How was your weekend? I hope you were able to enjoy the outdoors, eat some delicious food with great company, and relax before the week starts up again. This weekend was a lot of fun; a rough workout at CrossFit, attended a wedding, slept in, went out for breakfast, struggled through a corn maze, and got inspired to do a whole lot of baking/cooking this week with new recipes! As much as I was wanting summer to never end, over the past couple weeks I have remembered why I always looked forward to this time of year. I feel like I’m finally embracing fall and it feels comforting.

When the weather takes a turn for the cold, days get shorter, and we start spending less time outdoors and more hours inside, what feels comfortable to us; possibly watching more TV, moving less, and eating more; can start to take a toll on our well-being. When does comfort become too comfortable? When is comfortable a bad thing?

I began wondering about this earlier this week when I realized that I may have gotten too comfortable with my living situation and job. I knew that this was never a permanent arrangement. I knew that the ultimate plan was to finish classes online, get my certificate, work part-time while living at home, and move on. I was never expecting to meet wonderful people, make new friends, and have as much fun as I did. That was completely unexpected. Did it derail my drive to move on? Did I get too comfortable?

comfort zonesource

Maybe I had. I probably haven’t been trying my hardest with finding a new job or working towards getting more health coaching clients. I might have stalled my progress. Realizing that, I know that I need to re-focus, make a plan, and set a deadline. I know that I can’t stay here forever because I won’t be challenging myself, learning new things, or growing. This is home. This is my ultimate comfort zone. And I’ve been living here for a bit too long.

Being comfortable is perfectly OK, but when live seems stagnant and you feel restless, it might be time to shake it up. Spending time outside our comfort zone each week will keep us conditioned for the uncomfortable. So when an amazing opportunity comes along that will definitely challenge us and may even scare us; we won’t be too intimidated to turn it down.

What will you do this week that will take you of your comfort zone? Will you eat at a restaurant by yourself, cook a recipe you’ve never tried before, try a new workout, sign up for a fall run, buy a plane ticket, apply to a new job, or tell someone your true feelings? It doesn’t have to be life-altering. It just has to push you a bit. You’ll start to see the ripple effect these small actions have on your life. And who knows where it’ll take you, but i’m guessing it’ll be somewhere amazing.

Happy Monday and have a great week!

Leave a Reply

