What you do for you

Happy Monday! How was your weekend? This weekend flew by and I felt almost a little rushed. I was still able to see my sister and catch up over a delicious lunch while also perusing the countless aisles at Barnes and Noble making a mental list of all the books I’d like to read. Sunday was spent doing the usual laundry, grocery shopping, cooking, blogging, and I was able to squeeze a much-needed nap in as well. I was also able to think about the topic of self-care as I have brought it up with some of my clients recently and it has already been pushed to the back-burner. This tends to happen not only during this busy time of year, but quite frequently when work gets hectic, we take on too much, we forgot how to say no, and then we find ourselves taking care of absolutely everything else but ourselves. So when the house is clean, the errands completed, shopping done, dinner cooked, laundry folded, and you finally get a chance to breathe, what do you do for you?

relax by firesource

What is able to relax and recharge you? What do you love to do? What must you do to make sure that your body and mind are happy? Usually when I start to feel out of balance, anxious, and not quite like myself, I know that one or more of these things is off and I haven’t been giving it the attention it deserves. Making sure that I’m doing all these things on a daily/weekly basis allows me to stay healthy, happy, and continue to have the drive to want to try new things and keep exploring. I made a list of ten self-care things that are the most important to me and that I realize are important for not only my physical health but also my emotional and mental health.

1. Be active most days of the week-Starting my mornings with CrossFit is a must. There are several mornings where I contemplate why I’m waking up at 5 am and how much I would like to fall right back to sleep, but I also know that I’ve never regretted a workout and I know I need to move in order to stay sane.

2. Drink water-All day, my water bottle is by my side. It keeps dehydration headaches at bay, keeps me feeling awake, and aids in digestion.

3. Sleep 8 hours every night-Sleep is incredibly essential to how strong I feel, how productive I’ll be, and what kind of mood I’ll be in.

4. Avoid alcohol, sugar, and caffeine-I know how awful I feel after consuming these three things; my stomach hurts, I’m sluggish, or jittery and anxious. In very small amounts and on occasion, it’s OK. But I know what I’m getting myself into when I indulge too much.

5. Eat enough protein and greens-Keeps me satiated and feeling energetic.

6. Spend time alone in quiet-This is how I recharge my batteries and I must have time set aside each day to be on my own and quiet. The world is loud enough and allowing myself to spend time listening to my thoughts has helped me figure out big decisions in my life.

7. Bake, read, travel, learn-These are the things that make me happy and that I look forward to spending time on. This is the part of my life where I can try new things, be amazed at something, and continue to learn about new cultures and places.

8. Ask for help-This is one of my biggest flaws. I never ask for help. Even when I really need it. Even when I feel like I’m drowning. Just because I can do everything on my own (or at least I think I can) doesn’t mean I have to.

9. Make lists, don’t procrastinate, plan ahead-This keeps me organized, feeling ahead of the game, and it’s my coping mechanism when life gets hectic. This is how I make things manageable for myself.

10. Take breaks-nap, foam roll/stretch, put phone on silent-When I feel run-down and completely exhausted, a rest-day is a must. When breaks aren’t factored into my week, I know I am doing my body and mind a disservice. I turn off my phone, take a nap, don’t do any strenuous exercise, and allow my body to heal.

What are ten self-care things you must do in order to feel balanced and well? I hope you have a wonderful week and take time to do the things that keep you feeling your best!

Leave a Reply

