My relationship with food

Happy Monday! How was your weekend? I had a wonderful, low-key weekend in which I napped, wrote Christmas cards, went Christmas shopping, baked, and read. It had been awhile since I had absolutely nothing I needed to do or places I needed to be and it was awesome. I hope your weekend was just as great! I was thinking about writing this post and how I touched on this subject a bit with a post back in July, Love and Food. I wanted to go more in depth with the topic so here it goes 🙂

After reading just a couple posts from this blog, you know by now that I love food. I love baking. I love cooking new recipes. I love trying new ethnic foods. I love getting others excited about food. Food is one of my passions. But it wasn’t always this way.

There was a time when my relationship with food wasn’t as friendly. I wrote down everything I ate, I counted every calorie, everything was “low-fat” and “sugar free.” I relied on packaged freezer meals because they were low calorie. I drank diet soda because it would fill me up and it was zero calorie. I didn’t listen to my body. I deprived myself. I was ill-informed and had no clue what I was really doing to my body by treating it this way.

food be thy medicinesource

Luckily, I wised up. I read constantly about how to properly fuel the body, got my certification in holistic health coaching in which the major emphasis was on nutrition, and cleaned up my own diet. I stopped drinking milk because it made my skin freak out and gave me stomach aches. I stopped drinking soda when I learned about the effects it had on my bones and my brain, the overall inflammation it caused, and increased cravings. I ditched the processed, packaged foods. I ate when I was was hungry, drank water all day, and cut out added sugars. I made sure I was eating healthy fats and protein at each meal. Most importantly, I tossed out the old wisdom of “low-fat,” “sugar-free,” and “a calorie is a calorie” and started eating real food. I began eating mostly organic produce, poultry, and grass-fed beef. I experienced the direct effect food had on my mood, energy, strength, and overall wellbeing.

Food is healing. It’s not the enemy. It can boost the immune system, provide our body and mind with energy, keep our skin bright, hair and nails strong, decrease inflammation, heck, keep us alive. It’s time we took responsibility for how we treat our bodies. Listen to what your body is telling you. How do you feel after you eat certain foods? When do you feel your best? When do you feel your worst? What is preventing you from making a change? What are your excuses?

It doesn’t have to be difficult. It really is as simple as cutting out the processed junk and adding in clean, whole foods. That’s really all there is. Easier said than done? Absolutely. But if feeling your best and wanting to be the best version of yourself is on your 2015 resolutions/goals list, changing your relationship with food may be your first priority. If you feel like you may need a guide on the side to help you out, I would love to be your girl! In the meantime, check out my Pinterest boards for some food inspiration!

I hope you have a wonderful week full of delicious, real food. 🙂

Leave a Reply

