Goals for the New Year

new yearsource

A lot can happen in a year. After spending time looking back over 2014 and reflecting on memorable moments, what I’m proud of, enjoyable memories, what challenged me, patterns/themes from the year, lessons learned, and areas that I would like to focus on for next year, I started thinking about 2015 goals. One of my favorite parts of taking time to do a “year in review” is writing down goals. I like looking forward to the future and taking steps towards achieving what is important to me. I thought I would share my goals here and perhaps inspire you to set aside time this week to do a year in review and set goals for what will most definitely be a wonderful year to come!

My 2015 goals:

1. Move out of my parents’ house into an affordable, safe, clean apartment (preferably in Madison).

2. Work with 5 health coaching clients.

3. Travel to someplace I’ve never been before (California and somewhere tropical).

4. Get my first muscle-up, do 10 strict pull-ups, and continue to get better at Olympic lifts.

5. Stop the comparison game-I compare myself to others far too much. It doesn’t accomplish anything and often leaves me feeling inadequate. I want to work on comparing myself only to myself. Be happy for others’ accomplishments and use it to motivate and inspire instead of compare and defeat.

6. Stop trying to please everyone-This most likely will be a goal of mine every year. I constantly want to please everyone and I have found that it can get overwhelming. But most of all, no one wins. I need to remember to be true to myself and live my life to the best of my ability regardless of what others think.

7. Finish reading the four books I have started and haven’t yet finished. Now that my re-certification exam is out of the way, I should have more time to devote to reading. I would also like to continue to watch less TV and read more after work.

These are the things I want to focus on the most in 2015. I want to shift my mindset most of all as I know that my attitude really held me back in 2014. I’m looking forward to this year as I start a new job and work towards making these goals a reality. I hope you have a very happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

