Five Things Friday 2.6.15

brekkie in bedsource

Hey guys! Happy Friday! How did your week go? Mine was an interesting week and one that definitely kept me on my toes. I started working with a couple new one-on-one personal training clients and began a new group class in the evenings. I always start off with a plan and then completely scrap it once we get going. I realize what will work and what won’t, and I’m beginning to learn that I can plan as much as I want but it ultimately will never go how I want it to. Such is life, right? What’s going on this weekend? What helped you through the week? Here are five things that I have been incredibly thankful for this week:


1. Good sleep-After last week with not getting one solid night of good sleep, my body and mind were utterly exhausted. Even though I’m still not getting enough sleep, it was solid and it’s progress from last week so I’ll take it.

2. Homemade almond butter-I decided to put my new food processor to the ultimate test and made some almond butter! After what seemed like a solid 30 minutes and no almond butter in sight, I was ready to chuck it all into the garbage. I gave my food processor a break and decided to give it one final go. After 10-15 more minutes, almond butter was created. It was a miracle. And then I made these almond butter cups.

3. Friendly neighbors-As I was seriously struggling with trying to clear the 3 feet of snow built up at the end of the driveway after the plow came through on Monday, a neighbor took pity on me and cleared it for me. I was so incredibly thankful for the generosity!

4. Organizing a seminar-I get the chance to talk about whatever it is I think will be helpful to others at work. Meal planning and prep will be my first topic to discuss as it has been one of the number one barriers to success for clients that I’ve trained and health coached. I’ve enjoyed putting together the outline so far so we’ll see how it turns out.

5. Hanging with my sister this weekend-I love that I’ve been able to see my sisters more frequently. I am so thankful for the bond that we share and the fact that we just get each other. It’s a wonderful thing. 🙂

Favorite Links:

Why We Should Stop Trying-An interesting post but one I needed to read this week. What do you think?

How To Stop Screwing Yourself Over-Another great post by Shannon-wonderful advice.

Negative Emotions Are Key To Well-Being-I loved this article and I have found it to be so true in my life. It’s exhausting trying to be positive all the time and feeling like you must suppress real, raw emotion. We’re human and we get mad, sad, frustrated, and tired. And it’s OK. We have to acknowledge those emotions in order to learn, grow, and heal.

What are you thankful for this week?

Leave a Reply

