Know your Why

know your whysource

Happy Monday! How was your weekend? I hope it was restful, productive, and you’re feeling ready to take on this week! I was so thankful for sleeping almost 12 full hours on Saturday night and having a lazy Sunday morning. I spent a lot of time this past week thinking about my “why” and what motivates me to do what I do in all realms of life-CrossFit, blogging, health coaching, training, etc.

Despite fitness being such a large part of my life, I’ve been struggling the past few months with losing my enthusiasm for CrossFit. I was overwhelmingly negative with myself every time I walked into the gym and I just couldn’t seem to do anything right. I would place so much pressure on myself to lift heavier or be faster that I started to dread working out. I forgot why I started to CrossFit in the first place. I needed to re-discover my “why.”

I took some time and wrote down the reasons why I began doing this sport in the first place. I started CrossFit because I wanted to see what I was capable of, I wanted to push myself to prove that I can, I wanted to have a strong, capable, and functional body, I wanted to live a long, healthy life, I wanted to feel good about the way I looked and I wanted to work on becoming mentally tough. This is why I started.

I also realized the reasons why I continue to CrossFit-I loved the way I felt after finishing a grueling workout. I loved the sense of accomplishment I felt. I loved the process. I wasn’t going to get stronger in a day, but I would most definitely get stronger if I put the work in every week and just showed up. I loved the people I had met and the friendships that had formed. I also knew the parallels that had been drawn between my personal life and CrossFit. There was no way I was going to lift well if I was walking into the gym with a defeatist attitude. There was no way I was going to hit a PR on my front squat if I was already telling myself I couldn’t. And such was with my personal life-I needed to be kinder to myself. I needed to believe in myself. And I definitely needed to give myself a break.

When you start to lose motivation, when it isn’t fun anymore, when you wonder why you are doing it-revisit why you started. Refocus on what motivated you in the beginning. Chances are your why has nothing to do with anyone else. You started for you. You made a promise to yourself. You decided to make a change. Write these reasons down and you’ll feel a mental shift happen. I hope you’ll be re-motivated to give it your all and realize that it’s never about perfection but always about the journey.

Have a great week! See you Friday!

Leave a Reply

