Your life philosophy

joy ridesource

Happy Monday! How was your weekend? It was awesome to see the sun, enjoy walks outside, and get the chance to hang out with friends from the gym while eating delicious food! I hope you were able to get outside too and appreciate the extra hour of daylight on Sunday. On Saturday, while anxiously awaiting to be seated at Bassett Street Brunch Club, the topic of coaching philosophies had come up and what you would consider yours to be. It got me thinking about not only my coaching philosophy as a trainer and health coach but also what my philosophy is for life. What guides my life? What do I inherently believe?

A few quotes had come to mind almost immediately:

“If it doesn’t challenge you, it doesn’t change you.” Fred DeVito-I love this one for my clients but also for myself. We often like to train our strengths because it makes us feel good to be competent at something. We almost perform for ourselves when we train our strengths. We don’t learn much by training this way. We don’t challenge our bodies or our minds. But by working on our weaknesses, we challenge our ego. We get frustrated when we can’t do something well. Weaknesses fatigue us, make us think we can’t, and excuses creep up in order to protect our bruised egos. When we train our weaknesses, we change our entire being.

“If you get the inside right, the outside will follow.”-Trust in the process and be patient. Weight loss, making strides towards better health, becoming more peaceful/happy/easy-going, all begin with making changes to our attitude, our habits, and our confidence. These things take time. But if we focus on what we can control (the quality of foods we eat, how much sleep we get, dealing with stress in positive ways, doing work we love, allowing ourselves to take a break when we need to, putting time and care into relationships that matter), we will achieve our goals. It won’t happen overnight, but it will happen.

“You may not always end up where you thought you were going, but you will always end up where you are meant to be.”-Putting faith in God and realizing that I do not control everything. The way that I think my life should go might not be what He has in mind. I’m right where I need to be right now.

Each of these guides my life through the decisions that I choose to make. When I feel like I’ve lost my way, I try to steer myself back to these three things. What is your life philosophy?

Have a great week! See you Friday!

1 thought on “Your life philosophy”

Leave a Reply

