A new normal

pebblessource

Good morning! How was your weekend? I hope you were able to enjoy the sunshine we had on Saturday along with some warmer temperatures. The chairs are out on the Memorial Union Terrace in Madison and my sister told me it was completely packed all day on Saturday. I loved going to the Terrace in the summer and it makes me happy knowing that the season has begun for enjoying good company along Lake Mendota. Saturday was an awesome day spent celebrating a friend with a surprise baby shower at the gym with amazing food and lots of laughs. My Sunday was spent running around doing laundry, grocery shopping, meal prepping, and trying desperately to stay out of my parents’ way.

For the next few months, I’ll be feeling homeless. I’m not actually homeless by any stretch of the imagination, but I guess a better word would be “lost.” My parents are finally going through with their massive home remodel and demo starts today. They are excited and have worked all weekend clearing out cupboards, furniture, and finding a home for everything that was previously in the kitchen, living room, and master bath. There will be workers at the house from 7 am-4 pm every day until the project is finished. There is a make-shift kitchen in the basement and random furniture pushed into my bedroom in order to clear out the living room. For a type A person like me, it’s a complete nightmare. There is stuff everywhere and I can’t seem to find a single thing that I’m actually looking for. Due to the nature of my job, I don’t have a typical 9 to 5 work day. I work afternoons/evenings and a couple split shifts. Therefore, my mid-day is when I workout, shower, run errands, blog, etc. However, since the house will be getting destroyed during these prime hours, I’m forced to go somewhere else. The entire weekend I felt constantly in the way with countless eye-rolls from my parents and grumbles of “Well, deal with it. You shouldn’t have been here this long anyways.”

And the reality is, that statement is so true but it still stings. Life really hasn’t gone according to plan, that’s for sure, and now I’m forced to find a new normal. This phrase, “new normal”, has been mentioned a couple times to me this weekend and I thought it was worth some thought. With every life stage or major change, we’re forced to find a new rhythm, some sort of routine that offers comfort. We’re creatures of habit and when we move to a new city, start a new job, get married, start a family, decide to achieve a big goal; we must figure out how to ultimately get by. How can we do this most efficiently? How can we check off our to-do list while also setting aside plenty of time to do the things we love? How do we find our groove again?

What this situation boils down to is that I simply need a space I can call my own. And although I’m making steps towards this goal, as frustrating as it is, I’m still not there yet. So, I need to take a look at how I’ve dealt with finding a new normal during earlier life shake-ups. It seems that each time I’m thrown into a new situation and I feel uncomfortable and lost, I just try to take it one day at a time. It’s really all I can do. I write. I read. I try to get outdoors. I spend more time alone. And I slowly start to establish some semblance of a routine.

As of today, I will begin piecing together a new normal.

How do you deal with finding a new normal? I hope you have a great week and have a morning where you can make these for yourself or someone you love! 🙂

Leave a Reply

