10 things to try when the twenties are getting you down

Good morning! It’s Monday again, did your weekend fly by as well? I hope that you were able to not only be productive but also do some fun things too! On Sunday, my mom shared with me a really beautiful quote that reminded me of this particular blog post I wrote a year ago. I wanted to re-post it for today in hopes that it may help anyone going through a time in their lives where they aren’t quite content and feel like they may be spinning their wheels. Here is the quote:

“Some things you’re not letting happen right now because the timing isn’t perfect for you. Some you’re not letting happen because you are very aware of where you are. But all things, as they are happening, are happening in perfect order. And if you will relax and begin saying, “Everything in its perfect time. Everything is unfolding. And I’m enjoying where I am now, in relationship to where I’m going. Content where I am, and eager for more,” that is the perfect vibrational stance.”

A reoccurring theme on this blog is the “twenties” decade and how rough it can be. You don’t get the dream job you interviewed for, you feel stuck in life, being broke is a constant frustration, you feel like the only single person left on the planet, if you get one more wedding/baby shower invitation you might explode, and loneliness has become a close friend. I know others must feel the same way but sometimes it seems I’m alone on this journey through the decade from hell. Nonetheless, if this stage of your life is getting you down (which you are allowed to feel once in a while, so eating ice cream and watching Friday Night Lights re-runs by yourself on a weekend is OK) try some (or all) of these suggestions and see if you change your tune:

1. Organize and/or clean something. Go through your clothes and get rid of the stuff you haven’t worn in a year, clean out the fridge, organize your cupboards/pantry, etc. It keeps me busy and I feel productive and accomplished at the end of the day.

2. Listen to music that forces you to sing along/dance ridiculously. Music has the power to bring me out of a downer mood in a second. Depending on the day, this could be pop music from the 90’s-early 2000’s or The Temptations Pandora station. Never fails.

3. Go on a run or walk outside with no music, just you, the outdoors, and your thoughts. The number one reason that gets me to lace up my shoes and go on a run is knowing that when I get back, I will feel a million times better. Never underestimate the therapeutic effects of a run outside. It clears my mind and worries have a way of disappearing.

4. Get out of town for the day, weekend, or week. Seeing some place new can help you return with a new perspective.

5. Take a nap. When I’m tired and run down, bad moods have a way of sticking around for longer. A good night’s sleep or a really awesome nap can be life changing.

sunset

6. Watch a movie that makes you laugh and reminds you of the important things in life. My longstanding favorites are Little Miss Sunshine, The Way Way Back, and Away We Go. They are all quirky indie films and I feel less alone after watching them. Each one centers around the importance of family and marching to the beat of your own drum.

7. Make plans with friends, eat great food, have a strong drink, and talk for hours. This combination also never fails. Friends who are great listeners, love who you are, and who can add humor to any situation are true gems.

8. Write down 5 things about your life that you love. How you feel now is fleeting. It will pass. Realizing how good you have it helps to put the focus back on the big things.

9. Cook/bake a complex recipe; something you have never tried before and always wanted to make but could never find the time. Now is your chance. It’ll take your mind off of your worries since you’ll be too involved in the process at hand.

10. Don’t stop searching. Make goals. Keep asking questions. Be positive in knowing that it will get better and one day you’ll look back on this time in your life and be thankful for everything you endured because it made you the strong, awesome person you are today.

I hope you have a great week and that you fill it with things you love! See you Friday!

1 thought on “10 things to try when the twenties are getting you down”

Leave a Reply

