Summer Reads

pinterest photosource

Good afternoon! It’s June 1st today and I believe that this marks the start of summer. Technically speaking the summer solstice isn’t until the 21st but to me, the first of June has always been the unofficial start to the long awaited summer in Wisconsin. How was your weekend? I hope that it was productive but also restful and rejuvenating for you! During the 10 cumulative hours of driving that took place this weekend, I passed the time with reading. Not from my phone. Not from my nook. Not from any internet source. From a book. And it was awesome.

I love reading. I love the way books can capture the attention of its reader for hours and have us wondering where the time has gone. I love escaping into a world that is entirely not my own and experience other’s adventures, travels, relationships, dilemmas, triumphs, journeys, and wisdom. Reading has a way of making you feel like you aren’t alone. I love getting excited to open up a book at lunch time or going to bed early just to get a couple chapters in before my eyes get heavy. I love the way reading can make the whole world fall away for a bit by diving into the emotions of its characters in a different time or foreign world created by the author and our imagination.

Unfortunately, I don’t read as many books as I used to and I miss it. Blogs and social media have slowly taken over the time that I used to spend reading actual books. This summer, I want to start scaling back on Pinterest browsing, Facebook scrolling, and Instagram perusing and spend that time instead, with a new read. One of my favorite things to do in the summer is to read outside on my parents’ porch swing, under the shade, with no distractions. I can’t wait to get back to that very soon.

So, what are you reading right now? What’s on your summer reading list? I’m currently in the middle of Courtney Maum’s “I’m Having So Much Fun Here Without You” and after that, I’d love to read “The Girl On The Train” by Paula Hawkins and “Me Before You” by JoJo Moyes. Please let me know what your favorites are and I love to recommend some of my own as well!

Here is a quick link to get you inspired: 25 Must-Read Books To Dive Into This Summer

Have a great week and happy reading!

Leave a Reply

