Monday inspiration: breaking routine

bikes and basketssource

Good morning! How was your weekend? I hope you were able to do summer things, be surrounded by good company, and enjoy what this season has to offer. The weather did not cooperate this weekend until late afternoon on Sunday when the rain finally stopped and the sun started to peak through the clouds. After the usual Sunday chores were complete and a much-needed nap, it was time for me to get outside and soak in the late afternoon hours while writing on the porch.

Since reading this blog post on Friday, I haven’t been able stop thinking about the young man’s journey depicted in the video. Jedidiah Jenkins decides to leave his job and bike from Oregon to Patagonia in a year. He explains his reasoning behind why he decided to take this trip and his words have stayed with me ever since. I have viewed this video several times and each time I do, I get something new out of it. I find myself understanding and relating to him because I broke my routine and decided to do something that completely scared me once before and I long for that feeling again. Spending a year teaching English in South Korea after I graduated college was a choice that I made because it was out of my comfort zone. I wanted to travel, see a foreign place, be scared, not know the language or the customs, and experience all that I could in those 12 months. It was a pivotal year in which I learned a lot about myself and woke me up to the possibilities that life has to offer.

Watching Jedidiah’s journey got me thinking about the last time I did something that took me out of my comfort zone and scared the crap out of me. And, well…I don’t really remember when that last time was, what about you? One of the quotes from the video that stuck with me was this, “The routine is the enemy of time. It makes it fly by.” He continues to say, “It’s not about the bike. It’s about getting out of your routine. And that can look like anything.”

So on this Monday morning, a brand new start to the week, how will you get out of your routine? It doesn’t have to look like quitting your job and traveling for a year. But maybe it looks like taking Friday off and leaving for a weekend trip somewhere new. Maybe it’s turning the TV off at night and going on a walk. Maybe it’s going to see a movie by yourself. Or maybe it’s saying, “What the hell,” and booking that flight.

Whatever it is, I hope you’re inspired to break the routine.

Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

