Five Things Friday 7.3.15

picnic in the parksource

Happy Friday and 4th of July weekend! I love this weekend of summer. I feel like everyone enjoys this holiday to its fullest. They get together with their favorite people, grill out, soak up the beautiful summer weather, and are simply thankful for living in this wonderful country. I hope you are cutting the week short today and starting the weekend early! How was your week? What went well for you? Here are my top 5 for the week:

1. Being thankful: I’m surrounded with awesome people that care, listen, and make my days brighter. And that is not something to take for granted.

2. Taking advantage of the summer nights-Going to Madison on Thursday evening for an impromptu fireworks viewing. Because, why not?

3. A change in perspective: Despite having a light training schedule for the past few weeks, I’m trying not to let the lack of money get to me and instead enjoy the summer days before things start to get hectic with starting a new job in the next couple of weeks.

4. Super simple recipe: Shrimp kebabs with honeydew melon, bake at 400 degrees for 8-10 minutes. Delicious! The original recipe called for bacon wrapped scallops but shrimp was just simply cheaper. However, I can’t wait to try this with scallops one day!

5. Looking forward to the 4th: Getting together with girlfriends I haven’t seen in awhile, making this cucumber watermelon sangria, and doing this hero WOD with my favorite people from the gym!

Favorite Links:

19 Reasons To Workout-And none of them have anything to do with achieving a “perfect body” 🙂 I love all of these!

20 Inspirational Documentaries on Netflix To Guide Your Life-Some guidance on what to watch on a Friday night after spending 15 minutes scrolling through hundreds of options.

Making a Summer Bucket List-I love the idea of setting an intention for summer and asking yourself questions such as, “What would you liked to have learned? Where would you like to find yourself?”

I hope you have a safe, fun, and happy 4th of July!

Leave a Reply

