The best of summer

campfire on the beachsource

Good morning! How was your weekend? I hope you were able to spend it with great people and allow yourself time to recharge for the week ahead. This might have been one of the laziest weekends I’ve had all summer. I actually slept 12 hours on Saturday evening. I can’t remember the last time I’ve ever slept that much. It was amazing. I was able to spend time with my family, eat an awesome meal, do all the usual weekend cleaning and errand running, and spend Sunday evening around a fire catching up with a friend. A glorious summer weekend! 🙂

Despite August only just beginning, I feel like I’ve been coming across small but frequent reminders of the upcoming shift in seasons. Notebooks, folders, pens and pencils line the aisles at stores. New fall clothes make their way onto racks and summer clearance items are haphazardly pushed to the side. Halloween decorations are advertised in fall catalogs already. But I want it to be known, that we still have three full, hot, sunny weeks ahead of us in this wonderful month of August. We still have plenty of summer left. I love fall…but just not yet. So here are my highlights of this lovely summer so far. And I plan on enjoying these next few weeks to their fullest. I hope you do too!

The best things:

Hiking the trails at Devil’s Lake

Passing afternoons biking around Madison

Stand-up paddleboarding on Lake Mendota

Meandering around the Capitol

Enjoying meals outside

Evening walks and swinging

Eating ColdStone ice cream on Sundays

Watching the fireworks at Elver Park

Eating a ton of berries, mangoes, nectarines, and watermelon

Iced coffee in the mornings

Sleeping with the windows open

Workouts outside

The smell of campfires

Reunions with friends

Soaking up the last hours of the day by sitting outside surrounded by great company

Songs: It’s all about that country 🙂

John Cougar, John Deere, John 3:16 by Keith Urban

Crash and Burn by Thomas Rhett

Sweet Love by Billy Currington

House Party by Sam Hunt

Lose My Mind by Brett Eldredge

Little Bit Of You by Chase Bryant

Eats:

Turkey Basil Burgers

Lemon Herb Salmon Burgers

Peach Feta Salad with Peach Vinaigrette

Mahi Mahi Tacos with Tropical Salsa–Made this salsa all the time with fish this summer! Soo good!

Cucumber Watermelon Sangria

My favorite posts:

The feeling of summer

The best days

Monday Thoughts

Pick-me-ups

I’m headed on a road trip to Tennessee this week for a wedding! Road trip, new surroundings, mountains, the outdoors…great memories to be made for this season! I hope you have a great week ahead of you 🙂

Leave a Reply

