A perfect work/life balance

morning teasource

Good afternoon! How was your weekend? I hope you were able to sleep in, take your time, and do the things that recharge you for your week. There was a definite feel of fall in the air; leaves are starting to turn, dusk is settling in earlier each night, and having to grab a bathrobe for an extra layer in the morning has marked a turn in the seasons. This Wednesday will mark the official first day of Autumn as well as the last week of September. The days are moving faster than usual, or so it seems. This weekend made me realize that I need to minimize the emphasis I place on my to-do’s and start taking more time for self-care.

Last Friday I sat down with my boss and we chatted about a personality assessment that I had taken recently. One of the areas that I had scored a 10 out of 10 on was “work/life balance.” He said that he’s never seen anyone score a 10 out 10 in that area and he wanted to know what balance looks like since it appeared that it was incredibly important to me.

I’ve spoken about balance and self-care on this blog several times. Establishing balance is something that has been instilled in me since I can remember. I am a hard worker but I’ve known since I was young that I would never be the kind of person to work 80 hours a week and chase money my whole life. I wasn’t cut out for corporate America and I am OK not making six figures. I will never be the person who wants to work every weekend, pull split shifts daily, or pick up every shift that is offered. I put a lot into the clients that I work with and after 6 consecutive hours of working with clients, I’m tired and need a break. After 5 years of working in this industry, I know what kind of schedule will burn me out quickly.

I also know that I’m my happiest when I have time to prioritize the things that are important to me such as working out, getting adequate sleep, making meals, spending time with the ones I love, and taking time to be quiet and get away from it all. When I can do all these things alongside my work schedule, that is what perfect balance looks like.

Achieving a perfect balance is almost impossible but the closer I am to it, the more calm and happier I am. I can give more to my clients, my family, and Tom when I’m close to that balance. When I’ve started to stretch myself too thin-sleeping less hours, running around too much, working odd shifts and weekends, and taking no time for myself, that is when stress and anxiety get the best of me.

What does your work/life balance look like? Does it need tweaking? This week I want to spend more time outside, more time in quiet, and less time on my computer. I am going to start setting time constrictions for myself when I’m on my computer so I will focus on the task at hand and not get distracted by social media perusing. These small tweaks will help me get closer to my perfect balance. What steps will you make this week to get closer to your ideal?

Have a happy week and I’ll see you Friday!

Leave a Reply

