Five Things Friday 10.2.15

fall leavessource

Happy Friday! I hope your October is off to a great start! How was your week? I’ve been enjoying the perfect fall days with cooler temperatures, sunny weather, and the leaves starting to peak in color. It’s one of my favorite times of year and I always wish it wasn’t so fleeting. It seems as though everyone has been particularly busy over the past few weeks. The running around, hectic work environments, and booked weekends have been making the weeks fly by. My days are not always hectic, but I feel the dread that wraps itself around me when I get in my car every day for my commute. The 50-55 minute drive each way is a burden and I find myself questioning why it is I do it in the first place. I know that I only have 3 more months of it, but that somehow doesn’t seem to make the drive any faster or more enjoyable. However, this is why I love to write the “Five Things” post because it forces me to look for the good, find what I’m thankful for, and try my best to shift my focus. So today, here is what I’m grateful for:

Sleeping well. I can never underestimate the power of 9 hours of sleep or how great it is to sleep with the windows open during this season.

Baking these cinnamon apple muffins. They turned out wonderfully! I used plain yogurt instead of buttermilk and then just did a mixture of cinnamon, brown sugar, and pecans for the topping. I also love to bake and it was nice to have the time to do so yesterday.

Having fun working out this week. I’m trying to be positive with myself and just enjoy the fact that I have legs that can run, squat, and jump, a body that can respond to the demands I place on it, and a mind that stays positive when things get tough.

Fresh flowers, a new fall scented candle, and coffee in the morning. I have no idea what I did to deserve such an amazing guy, but I am truly thankful every day for him.

Looking forward to having Saturday off and despite the many items on my to-do list, I’m hoping to sneak in a nap and some reading time as well.

Fall recipes I can’t wait to try…

Pear crisp-A gluten-free/paleo option would be to sub in almond meal for the oat flour and add in your favorite nuts instead of the oats.

5-Ingredient Quinoa Mac n’ Cheese-Oh my goodness, this sounds amazing! Using butternut squash, almond milk, dijon mustard, quinoa, and goat cheese…this might need to happen this weekend!

Creamy Baked Butternut Squash, Broccoli, and Chipotle Almond Sauce-This sauce sounds heavenly 🙂

What are you thankful for this week? I hope you have a very happy fall weekend!

Leave a Reply

