Life currently…

fall and coffeesource

Hey guys! I hope you had an amazing fall weekend and that your week is already off to a great start! My weekend was full of great company, lots of laughs, great food, beautiful fall weather, and a relaxing Sunday evening. I am looking forward to celebrating Tom’s birthday tomorrow (I’m making this chocolate peanut butter eclair cake…can’t wait!) and hopefully enjoying the great, fall week ahead! What’s going on with you lately? Here is what I’ve been up to:

Reading: “Poems from the Pond” by Peggy Freydberg. This book was given to me by my sister and I absolutely love it. I love reading poems because it forces you to slow down, read, re-read, and think. I’ve been reading them in the evenings as a great way to unwind before bed.

Working on: Setting time constraints for myself when I work. I get completely overwhelmed during the time that I have before I go to work. I try to look for apartments, program for clients, respond to client emails, prep dinner, run errands, write blog posts, and before I know it, I have to run out the door and commute to work. This week I’m trying to focus on beginning a task and then completing it before I start a new one. Also, setting a time limit on how long I spend responding to work emails and programming, so I am still able to get other important things done as well.

Feeling incredibly blessed: With a fun-filled weekend spent at the winery and at Lake Geneva. I got to catch up with my sisters and their significant others while drinking wine outside on a gorgeous fall day, have dinner with my parents that evening, and meander around Lake Geneva with Tom. It was a perfect weekend 🙂

Bummed about: My knee and low back causing me quite a bit of pain. I’m modifying workouts and trying to focus on the things I can do, but it’s been frustrating.

Cooking: This smoked sausage, kale, and cider quinoa skillet is awesome. It’s a one-pot meal, super easy to put together, and fast. I would recommend doubling the recipe so you have some leftovers for lunch the next day. Also, this spaghetti squash with garlicky kale pesto and sun-dried tomatoes is on the menu for tonight. We are adding in some shrimp to the mix for some protein. Spaghetti squash becomes a staple for us and I love trying out new ways to spice it up.

Loving: This time of year, writing blog posts, baking new recipes, and pumpkin spice coffee on a chilly morning.

What’s new with you? Have a great rest of the week!

Leave a Reply

