Five Things Friday 1.15.16

fireplacesource

Good morning and happy Friday! How was your week? Are you noticing that the days are getting longer? I notice it as I leave the gym in the morning and the sky is just barely illuminated by the first few rays of sun. I notice it at work as I begin training my 5 pm client and dusk is starting to approach.  It’s a wonderful sign of warmer, nicer days ahead! I know, I’m getting ahead of myself. But living in Wisconsin in the winter is brutal and we have to appreciate the small things such as this. Speaking of the small things, these are the things I’ve been loving lately…


Slow-cooker meals, oatmeal in the rice cooker, and the “delay brew” button on the coffee maker. Basically anything that I can prep beforehand and then have it magically be ready for me to consume when I want it…glorious.

Shonda Rhimes’s book, Year of Yes. Her writing is funny, honest, and inspiring. Since I started reading her book, I’ve been wondering what a ‘year of yes’ would look like for me. If I had to say yes to everything that scared me for one year…I wonder how far outside my comfort zone I could get. It scares me just thinking about it.

Candles from Marshall’s. They are always a great deal and I particularly love the DW brand they carry. Their vanilla bean and birthday cake scents make the apartment smell so inviting and cozy.

Taking a walk outside. The sun finally came out yesterday and it was actually in the 30’s! We took advantage and finally got outside and explored a trail nearby. I realized just how much I missed being outside, breathing fresh air, and seeing the sun!

A down comforter. Without the heat on at night and zero degree temperatures outside, a down comforter is essential and a saving grace.

The small things in life. They aren’t exciting by any means. But I count them as blessings because I know how incredibly lucky I am to have this life. What small things are you thankful for today?

Have a very happy weekend!

Leave a Reply

