Friday inspiration 1.22.16

wintersource

Happy Friday guys! We made it. We really did! How was your week? What are you looking forward to this weekend? I haven’t slept well this week and I am feeling the effects of it sink in. I’m a bit dizzy, my eyes hurt, I am making constant spelling mistakes, and my energy is just not there. I spent the majority of the week trying to catch up with work but I feel like I failed miserably. I hope this wasn’t the case for you. I hope you slept wonderfully and feeling accomplished about the week.

I was able to finish Shonda Rhimes’s book “Year of Yes” this week and there was an excerpt that really struck a cord with me. I wanted to share it with you in case they are the words you need to hear today.

“We all spend our lives kicking the crap out of ourselves for not being this way or that way, not having this thing or that thing, not being like this person or that person. For not living up to some standard we think applies across the board to all of us. We spend our lives trying to follow the same path, living by the same rules. I think we believe that happiness is following the same list of rules. In being more like everyone else. That? Is wrong. There is no list of rules. There is one rule. The rule is: there are no rules. Happiness comes from living as you need to, as you want to. As your inner voice tells you to. Happiness comes from being who you actually are instead of who you think you are supposed to be. Being traditional is not traditional anymore. It’s funny that we still think of it that way.”

I read this. And then re-read it. And re-read it again. These are the words I needed. These words feel like freedom. I want these words forever in the back of my mind. So in times when I feel terrified and anxious about turning 30 and my life looks nothing like I thought it would. When all my friends are married and with children or trying to have children. When I’m nowhere close to buying a house, a new car, or even new running shoes. When I have absolutely no idea what the next five years will look like. When I still don’t know what I want to be when I grow up. If I can just pull these words to the front of my mind, take a deep breath, and let go of all those stupid expectations I place on myself. Because Shonda is right. There is no list of rules. Our lives can be whatever we want them to be.

On that note, I hope your Friday is lovely. Have a happy weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

