Friday things 2.26.16

dining outsidesource

You guys, we made it. Friday is here. Finally. And even better…it’s the last Friday of February. We are one month closer to spring! What’s new? How did your week go down? Mine was pretty decent. I had a couple of interviews this week for some cool opportunities. I’m always trying to stay open to new things and some new things came my way this week. I have no idea if they will result in anything but here’s hoping! I’ve also been daydreaming a lot lately about traveling to San Diego. We won’t be going until May, but I’m already looking forward to reuniting with a friend, going to the beach, and exploring the city. I just love it there. What’s inspiring you lately? Here are a few noteworthy things from my week:

I listened to this podcast earlier and loved the message. A functional medicine practitioner shared the findings of a recent study that emphasized the power of getting outside, to a place that is away from the city, and fairly untouched is not only good for the soul but also our chemistry. Simply being in nature can actually lower cortisol (stress hormone) levels as well as lower heart rate and blood pressure. It was also noted that our NK killer cells (anti-cancer proteins) can be boosted by 50% just by getting out in nature at least once a month! He requires his patients to spend time outside each day in order to heal their bodies from chronic fatigue and a host of other issues. Which leads me too…

The forecast for Saturday, 55 degrees and sunny. A perfect day to be outside and soaking up the sun!

Robyn’s blog post about her recent trip to Sonoma, CA with her mom. Everything about this post is perfect and had me daydreaming about taking my own trip out there someday.

Wednesday mornings. I take the day off from the gym and sleep in with Tom until 7 am. We get to make breakfast together and talk about whatever we have going on for that day. I look forward to Wednesday mornings all week. It’s the simplest thing but I cherish it.

I reluctantly signed up for the CrossFit Open. This will be my third year participating and I was on the fence about signing up. Of course I would still do the workouts and cheer everyone on, but I just didn’t feel the need to pay the $20 and register my scores. But then I was slowly coerced into it and so now I’m officially signed up. Will I try harder in the workouts? I don’t know. Maybe? I guess regardless of how I feel about the Open, I love CrossFit Madtown and the community has been incredibly welcoming. And I’m all about supporting that. 🙂

Zoodles. I got a spirilizer for Christmas and have been putting it to good use. We had these creamy roasted red pepper zucchini noodles for dinner this week and they were fantastic! Even if you don’t have a spirlizer, make this sauce alongside some regular noodles. So, so good!

Banana ice cream. It’s my favorite treat recently. This week I’ve been blending frozen bananas along with some coconut cream and almond milk to get it to the desired consistency. Next, I’ll add in a scoop of peanut butter and maybe chocolate protein powder. It’s also super good with heavy whipping cream! You won’t be let down.

It’s your turn! Let me know what’s inspiring you this week!

Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

