Getting back to gratitude

dining roomsource

Happy Monday to you! How was your weekend? I hope that it was a lovely one and that you are feeling ready to tackle this week. I had a really wonderful weekend and it was exactly what I needed. Lately, I’ve been feeling rather lonely and down on myself. After a couple of days spent with friends and family, I feel recharged and so thankful. It’s easy to be grateful when life is going well, but man, it’s really hard when life gets a bit dark. I was struggling in my relationships and with my finances and it took me down into a black hole of self pity. It took me awhile to dig myself out of it and I realized that I need to prioritize gratitude every day. In the grand scheme of life, I know that I have it pretty good. It’s ok to not be happy every second of the day. Or every hour. Or even every day. But, I know that I can be grateful every day. And gratitude is something I’ll be working on so I can keep my eyes open to the bigger picture. So on this Monday afternoon, here is what I’m thankful for:

Coffee blended with almond milk, cinnamon, and coconut oil. So good.

Workouts at CrossFit Madtown. I wouldn’t want to start my mornings any other way.

Celebrating my dad’s 62nd birthday with my family. Spending Saturday night catching up over dinner, eating pie afterwards, and laughing lots.

Having a few hours to just read and nap on a Sunday.

Spending time with friends and realizing that it’s been far too long since we’ve seen each other and how I need to make more of effort to connect. Being with others that get you and make you laugh is so rare.

Having a vase of beautiful lilies to look at while I’m at my desk.

Now it’s your turn đŸ™‚ What are you thankful for today?

Leave a Reply

