Friday thoughts 5.27.16

feetsource

Gratitude. I love devoting my Friday posts to gratitude. It’s a practice that I started awhile ago and it helps keep me humble and thankful. But, it can be easier said than done. I could easily look at my life in this way…

My car is rusted and old. Every six months or so, something goes very wrong with it and it costs me a whole lot of money. I know it’s only a matter of time before it completely stops working. For good.

My phone is old and has a cracked screen. It freezes a lot and the camera rarely works well.

We need a new bed. It sags in the middle and getting a decent night sleep happens less frequently.

Our air conditioner in our apartment is abysmal. We can run it all day long but it never reaches our loft which is where we sleep so we toss and turn in addition to sleeping on a crap bed and driving up our electric bill.

I no longer fit into any shorts or pants that I own. I’m not entirely sure what is going on but I now have to go buy new everything. Which is really expensive. And I feel uncomfortable in everything. And I hate shopping.

All of these things cost money to fix which is something I never have. Ever. I love what I do but it sure can be difficult to buy groceries and pay the bills.

And now I feel like total crap for writing all of this. It’s so easy to spiral down a deep, dark hole of self pity. I mean, all of these things I was able to rattle off to you in just a matter of a few seconds. They are on my mind constantly. And I let them get to me way too often than I care to admit. But on the flip side…

My car currently gets me from point A to point B. I do not make car payments on it and it’s somewhat reliable.

My phone still makes calls and sends texts.

I have a roof over my head at night.

I have a body that responds well to the demands I place upon it. It may be taking on a shape that I don’t care for and forces me to buy bigger sizes, but I am healthy. Which is never something to be taken for granted.

I’ve always had money to buy food and pay bills. It’s very close at the end of the month, but I can make it work.

My job is fun and rarely ever causes me stress. I work with great people and enjoy what I do.

Most importantly, I have wonderful people in my life who love and support me and vice versa. I have things to look forward to. I am blessed.

I hope that this post can inspire you to take a look at your life. I hope today you can find your inner Chris Traeger (Parks and Rec reference anyone?!) and find the bright side to all your current woes. Find the ways God has blessed your life and don’t be pulled into that negative self pity spiral. It’s a beautiful day. I hope you enjoy it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

