Friday things 7.22.16

ocean and sandsource

Good morning and happy Friday to you! It’s been way too long and I’ve really missed writing on this blog. It feels good to be back here today and I’m so happy you are reading. Thank you for sticking with me! How has your week been? How has your July been going? I say it every year, but this season goes by way too quickly. I’ve been struggling a bit with my schedule and I’ve decided to try to change a few things up to see what works best for me. The past two weeks I have tried to workout in the afternoon between my two jobs instead of waking up at 5 am. I was starting to have anxiety about waking up early and was not getting quality sleep. It was taking a toll on me mentally and emotionally and I knew something had to give. I enjoy sleeping in a bit more in the mornings and working out in the afternoon helps my energy levels throughout that mid-day slump. But the only thing that I missed was having some down time in the afternoon, before going to train, where I could read or write. Tom had the great idea that I should try writing in the mornings, before I get going with my coaching calls. So today, I’m trying that out. 🙂 Have you ever needed to revamp your schedule since the old way was no longer working for you? What caused you to re-evaluate? I’d love to know!

So since it’s been awhile since I’ve blogged, this is what has been going on with me lately…

Eating…all the summer fruit I can get my hands on! Peaches are so good right now and the strawberries, blackberries, and blueberries…so delicious! What is your favorite way to enjoy summer fruit? I tried out this peach salsa and paired it with some mahi mahi for fish tacos and it was the best.

Reading…Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil…still! Reading has taken a backseat the past few weeks and I’ve made such slow progress with this book. I’m over a hundred pages in and there is still no plot…just introduction of characters! So I’ve been having a hard time getting into it. But I’ve heard such good things so I’m going to keep pushing through. But i’m anxiously awaiting the new Harry Potter book out next week! Will you be reading it?

Trying out…meditation. I’ve been coaching clients through managing stress and a lot of them are starting up a meditation practice. I’ve read about meditation and have only really tried it a few times but when my stress and anxiety started to creep into dangerous territory last week, I decided it was time for me to really give it an honest try. So I downloaded the “Calm” app and have been following along with their “7 days of mindfulness.” It’s incredibly difficult to keep my focus but that’s how I know I need to do it. I want to be a calmer person, not let things get to me so much, and try to be more present. Are you a fan of meditation?

Loving…Angelic sprouted grain products! A woman dropped off some samples of their sprouted grain bread and tortillas a couple weeks ago at work and I absolutely love their products! Their tortillas do not crack or fall apart when you fold them and their bread is thicker and less crumbly than Ezekiel. And bonus, they are made in Wisconsin! I picked up their pizza crust as well and I’m looking forward to trying that out this weekend.

Excited to watch…the CrossFit Games this weekend. I’m not sure how many events I’ll actually be able to watch, but I love seeing these competitors give it their all. They are absolutely inspiring and it’s always a surprise what kind of workouts these athletes will need to complete. Will you be watching?

Well, that’s about all for me! Let me know what you’ve been up to lately! I hope you have a very happy July weekend ahead!

 

6 thoughts on “Friday things 7.22.16”

  1. Keep at the meditation, it’s really hard to calm the mind, but you will reap the benefits. Even just taken time to pay attention to your breath is helpful. Love you!

  2. Glad to hear from you this morning. I enjoy seeing what you are up to. I am happy that things are going good for you and Tom. I wanted to let you know that I quit Crystal back in January and started working for the county, and it is quite a change. Some of it good and some of it very different, but overall better. The overall outlook on life is improved. I started losing weight, lost 96lbs, and I think with the mental goal of 100 it freaked me out so I have been having an incredibly hard time sticking to any type of diet and of course gaining 40 back. This weekend is my restart weekend..where I am going to start and succeed in getting that 100lbs off.

    Have a good weekend and week. See you next post!

    1. So wonderful to hear from you Kris! I’ve been wondering how you were 🙂 Congratulations on finding a new job and staying committed to your weight loss goal! I am so proud of you! You were always so much fun to work with and constantly pushed yourself. Please keep me updated on your life and let me know if there is anything I can do to help/assist you on your weight loss journey! Can’t wait to hear when you’ve hit that goal! Keep up all your hard work!

Leave a Reply

