Friday thoughts 9.2.16

rest2source

Good morning and happy first Friday of September! Kids are back to school, the humidity has finally calmed down, and I’m already seeing pumpkin recipes everywhere! It’s bittersweet to be moving into a season that is no longer associated with long, sunny days, tank tops and flip flops, and outdoor grill-outs. This week I was filled with a bit of anxiety with getting together a new program for work, feeling bummed that August came to a close, and experiencing constant muscle soreness that I couldn’t seem to get rid of. I felt like I couldn’t keep my focus on just one thing at a time and like I was always being pulled in different directions.

This week, one particular word kept coming up in conversations and it was rest. My sister was forced to take physical rest this past week due to an injured ankle. Tom was forced to take rest after pulling his back in a workout. An acquaintance was taking a month off from CrossFit to let her body heal. And I realized that I couldn’t remember the last time I had taken a break from the gym to let my body rest and heal. It seemed like the perfect opportunity to do so. I booked a massage and decided to just go on walks and runs until next week. I didn’t want to keep re-aggravating sore muscles and I wanted to get rid of the tension headache I had been experiencing for days.

I don’t know why it takes me until I am completely burnt out to give it a rest. Obviously, rest isn’t easy to take. Our culture loves to glorify that more is better. It’s easy for me to believe that when I love to push myself and I love training clients to push their limits. But there is a breaking point. I’m trying to learn how to allow myself rest before I get there.

Living a healthy life isn’t just about eating kale and working out hard. It’s also about finding what you love to do and making it a priority in your life. It’s about connecting with others and being surrounded by people you love. It’s about listening to your body and making sure to take care of it. It’s about having a healthy relationship with yourself and loving yourself enough to know what’s best. So if you feel like any of these things are out of balance, and you need to prioritize rest in some way, I hope you can do that.

I hope you have a very happy Labor Day weekend!

2 thoughts on “Friday thoughts 9.2.16”

Leave a Reply

