Friday thoughts 9.9.16

coffee-and-leavessource

Good morning! I hope you had a great week and that it didn’t crawl as much as mine seemed to. Despite the holiday on Monday, this week was jammed pack with coaching calls and training sessions and each day seemed to go a little slower than the next. However, I wanted to share with you something that I’ve been thinking quite a bit about lately. Have you ever wondered what kind of a friend/partner/sister/daughter you are to others? Are you understanding? A good listener? Lending a hand when needed? Or maybe you feel like you’ve not been the best to the ones you love the most. That’s the feeling I have had lately. I haven’t been the person I’ve wanted to be to others and I want to change that. Tom is one of those people in my life who makes me realize this the most.

Over the past two years, he has always wanted to make my days easier. He grocery shops for me because he knows I hate it. He helps me clean the apartment because he knows how much I want to get it done. He cooks dinner for me when I work later than he does. He buys me ginger kombucha when he sees it at the store because he knows it’s my favorite. He asks me how he can help when I’m stressed out. He tries to make me smile when I’m in a terrible mood. He always makes my eggs first in the mornings.

But also, he’s a good friend to others. He plans their bachelor parties, texts them to see how they are doing if he hasn’t connected with them in awhile, and is always lending a hand at CrossFit when someone is struggling with a skill. He has picked up several shifts at work to help out co-workers when they are out sick or on vacation. He even texts my sister “good luck on your run”  before she heads out for one of her training runs for her first half marathon.

This post isn’t about me gushing over how wonderful Tom is (although he really is an amazing human), it’s about taking time to realize just how great, thoughtful, and loving the people are in our lives and using it to inspire us to love each other better. Tom makes me want to be a better person not only for him, but for everyone else I love.

As I approach turning 30 years old in just a short month, I have realized that above all the things I wish for in this new decade, I pray that God shows me how to love the ones in my life better. Because at the end of the day, that’s all that really counts.

Thank you for reading and I hope you have a very happy September weekend!

 

1 thought on “Friday thoughts 9.9.16”

Leave a Reply

