A new decade

octobersource

“The unexamined life is not worth living.” -Socrates

Happy Friday to you! I hope your week is wrapping up nicely and that you are looking forward to a beautiful fall weekend. I am so thankful that it is finally Friday. It’s been a very hectic week with lots to do and I feel like I’ve been scrambling around every day wishing there were more hours in the day. But today I get to take a breath. I get to enjoy this day off from work, have some much-needed sister time, and relax because today I turn 30 years old.

I love birthdays because it’s a nice reminder to take a look back on the past year, and in the case of a milestone birthday, a look back on the past decade. The twenties were full of high highs and low lows. It started with making my way through college, then graduation, moving to South Korea for a year and teaching English, working and exploring Australia for a few months, working at my first training job and realizing what it’s like to hate going to work every day, working at several other training jobs, taking memorable sister trips to Rome and London, running my first marathon, finding CrossFit, falling in love, becoming a holistic health coach, starting this blog, having a whole lot of laughs and shedding lots of tears along the way. I am a completely different person now than I was when I was 20. I don’t dread getting older in any way. I am so thankful to move into this new decade with a better understanding of who I am and what I stand for. With that being said, here are a few things I wish for my 30’s…


To love better-as a sister, friend, daughter, and significant other.

To rest more-more time away from work and unplugging completely.

Get quiet-carve out time daily for just me and my thoughts.

See new places-make a plan to save, book the flight, and go.

Challenge myself-getting out of that dreaded comfort zone every now and then.

Become more connected-to God and myself.

On that note…here’s to a wonderful new decade! A very happy birthday to my womb-mate and soul-sister as well! Can’t imagine celebrating this day without you 🙂

Happy weekend to you!

Leave a Reply

