Friday things 11.18.16

Good morning and a very happy Friday to you! I hope your week has gone well and that you are really looking forward to the holiday next week. I know I am! It’s been a busy week for me and I have been craving some time to just be alone, read, bake something good, and write. Unfortunately I haven’t had any bouts of time longer than 15 minutes or so to sit and do just that. It’s been coaching calls, emails, training sessions, getting together newsletter materials, and then just regular stuff like menu planning, laundry, and cleaning.

tea-and-crumpets2source

I have a busy schedule tonight with training sessions and then a full schedule tomorrow morning at the gym but then I get to make the drive home to my parents’ house to celebrate my mom’s birthday. My sisters, dad, and I are making an awesome meal for her and I’m bringing goat cheese stuffed bacon-wrapped dates (heaven) for an appetizer and then a salad concoction of all my favorite things (shaved brussel sprouts, mixed greens, granny smith apple, pomegranate seeds, walnuts, goat cheese crumbles, and a maple-dijon vinaigrette). I love that I get to get together with my family twice in one month which is so rare. Can’t wait!

What’s been the bright side in your day lately? Here are a few small things that have helped me out this week…

Morning walks have been saving me this week. We’ve had some absolutely beautiful weather this week and it’s been so nice getting out first thing in the morning for some fresh air.

“Golden milk” lattes have been my morning go-to…coffee, almond milk, a dash of cinnamon, turmeric, black pepper, honey, and a spoonful of coconut oil blended together. The best.

Elin Hilderbrand’s “Winter Street”. I just finished it yesterday and loved the break it gave me from all the non-fiction I had been reading. It was a light read and got me in the holiday mood and I already have the next book in the series ready for me to pick up at the library. 🙂

Knowing that I get Thursday off next week is helping me push through these busy days ahead. As a trainer, you aren’t ever given any time off during the holidays so I have to really enjoy and be present on the actual day. Now I just have to figure out what I’d like to bring! There are way too many amazing options out there. What will you be bringing to your Thanksgiving?

I hope you have a very happy weekend!

Leave a Reply

