Year in review 2016

I found this particular quote to be quite fitting and true for tomorrow: “New Year’s Eve is like every other night; there is no pause in the march of the universe, no breathless moment of silence among created things that the passage of another twelve months may be noted; and yet no man has quite the same thoughts this evening that come with the coming of darkness on other nights”
-Hamilton Wright Mabie

As New Year’s Eve approaches, one of the things that I’ve made sure to do the past few years is to set aside a quiet thirty minutes or so, alone, with my journal, and I reflect back on the year. I have learned that I can never truly move forward with anything in my life until I’ve taken the proper time to understand where I’ve been, mistakes made, lessons learned, and common themes that tend to keep showing up. If we don’t evaluate the life we’ve been living and take stock, then we live on autopilot. We allow ourselves to let our lives pass us by without ever really doing anything. Today is your day to sit, take stock, write, maybe begin to course-correct, and plan.

Just like my post last year at this time, I’ve included some prompts I love that help me begin to reflect on 2016…

Memorable moments from the year (what were your top 5?)…

What are you most proud of? (Did you forget to celebrate this accomplishment? If so, do so today!)

What was challenging?

What patterns did you recognize from the year?

What lessons were learned?

New skills developed…

Areas in which you’d like to grow…

How did your outlook evolve? (What did you shift perspective on?)

What would you tell yourself this time, last year?

Now, looking forward to 2017…

What theme would you like this year to have?

What do you want to see? discover? explore?

What skills do you want to learn? improve? master?

What would you like to do more of this year?

If you started doing it today, what would have the most positive impact on your life?

If you stopped doing it today, what would have the most positive impact on your life?

Goals for 2017…

Cheers to 2017! I wish you a very happy New Year!

 

Leave a Reply

