Friday things 3.10.17

Happy Friday morning! I hope this post finds you well, maybe eating a delightful breakfast or sipping on some hot coffee and enjoying the quiet of the morning. I hope your week rounded out nicely for you and that you are looking forward to what the weekend has to offer. I know I always look forward to the weekends and with only a haircut scheduled and a few errands to run, it’s pretty open to spontaneous weekend things. We’ve had blustery windy days here this week and it’s going to be rather cold this weekend unfortunately but I hope to still get out for a walk or two to enjoy some fresh air. What sort of things do you have planned?

I have been receiving the “Rock your happy” newsletter since the start of the year, and though I’ve mentioned it before on the blog, I absolutely love it. One of the daily prompts was to schedule more fun/things that make you happy into your days. I’ve been trying to do this, even in the smallest of ways, and it’s helped keep me more positive this week. Here are a few of the things I tried that I loved…

learn more spiritually and going to church-I’ve been lucky to find a church in which I absolutely adore the pastor and his messages each Sunday. I’ve been trying to write down some take-aways from his message so I can refer back to them when I need to.

yoga to start the day-I’ve gotten into the habit of doing yoga and stretching in the mornings and now if I don’t do it, my mornings feel off. I’ve been choosing a different youtube video to follow along with and love how it wakes me up and gets my mornings off to a great start.

pancakes for breakfast-You’ve already heard me mention these before, but these pancakes are perfection and I can’t get enough of them! I’ve been topping them with almond butter and berries and the blueberries have been outstanding lately! Here’s the recipe in case you wanted to make them: mix together 1 egg, 1/2 mashed banana, 1/2 c. oats, 1/4 c. yogurt, dash of cinnamon, and I like to add some chia seeds. Pour into 2 generous sized pancakes and top with your favorite things!

baking-Baking is my happy place so I whipped up some paleo blueberry muffins and these dairy free, grain-free chocolate chip cookies. Eat these warm out of the oven with a glass of cold almond milk and you will be in heaven. So, so good.

grabbing coffee on Tuesday morning-Being treated to an almond milk latte by Tom at our favorite local coffee place was such a lovely treat. Tom doesn’t have to train early on Tuesday mornings so we were able to sleep in a bit and enjoy a leisurely morning together.

new book for the month-I swung by the library and picked up Alice Hoffman’s “Here on Earth.” My sister is currently reading this as well so I thought I would pick it up too since we both read “Love Warrior” at the same time and enjoyed discussing it together. I love that reading is free and the fact that I have a library located just down the road from me is so perfect. What have you read lately that you enjoyed? Let me know!

looking forward to a vacation-It’s finally coming closer and Tom and I are getting so excited. We haven’t taken any vacation days since last May! We are both in desperate need of a change of scenery and some sunshine. I made a promise to myself that I wouldn’t go that long again without taking time off and I intend to take all of my vacation days this year. 🙂

How can you add a bit more happy into your days?

I hope you have a lovely weekend!

Leave a Reply

