plans

white bedroomsource

Good morning and happy Friday to you! I know some people are celebrating the beginning of March Madness and some are celebrating St. Patrick’s day. I’m just celebrating the fact that it’s Friday. 🙂

I took a look at my schedule for the weekend and felt a bit robbed. I work on Saturday for a few hours and then we are going to an Escape Room with some of Tom’s friends that afternoon. We are also celebrating my dad’s birthday on Sunday with brunch and then we will be heading to church on Sunday evening for their “Newcomer’s class.” In the midst of these things, we have all of the usual weekend things like laundry, some food prep, cleaning, programming for clients and classes for the upcoming week, and hitting up the sale at Kohl’s to maybe score some sandals for our vacation that is fast approaching. All of these things are good and I’m looking forward to them. But I also realize how much I enjoy when my time isn’t so scheduled out.

When I have more open space to do things that my soul needs; like reading a book, grabbing a coffee at my favorite coffee shop, or taking a glorious nap, I can approach Monday feeling refreshed. Not frazzled, tired, and wondering where my weekend went. And so often goes with life.

I was asked recently where I see myself in the next five years. This might be one of my most dreaded questions because I really have no idea. I don’t know if I’ll still be a trainer. I don’t know if I’ll be living in Madison. I have no idea what’s in store for me professionally. And sometimes I don’t like admitting that because it makes me feel vulnerable and like I don’t have my shit together. But then again, who really does? And that’s OK.

I don’t have my life mapped out. I haven’t set milestones for myself to hit by the time I reach a certain age. I don’t know if I ever want to have kids. I don’t know when I’ll pay off my student loans. I don’t know if we will ever save enough to buy a home. I don’t know how to use my passion for health and wellness to help others but also support us enough financially.

What I do know is that I want to travel to new places. I want to be married to Tom. I want to make a difference and help others, if only in the smallest way. I want to grow in my faith. I want to learn and be curious. I want to live minimally and focus on the things that truly matter. That is the extent of my plans. The future is a big question mark.

But I love not having plans. I like an open schedule and a wide open tomorrow. Because then I can let myself jump at opportunities that arise, like going to Belize for a mission trip. Or having the time to listen to a new podcast. Or write a blog post. Explore a new trail. Try out a new restaurant. Or to just live a life not surrounded by incessant noise and busyness. All of this sounds so good to me and making lots of plans would get in the way of all of this.

So here is to your weekend and the hopes that you’ve allowed for time with no plans. 🙂

Leave a Reply

