Friday things

It’s Friday already and the sun is abundant which makes it even sweeter. How was your week? After getting back from vacation so early on Tuesday morning, it took me a couple of days to re-calibrate. But I feel back into my groove and came back with a fresher perspective on things.

I listened to a number of podcasts while waiting at the airport and sitting on flights and I was also reading “Present over Perfect” by Shauna Niequist. A few themes that I kept noticing were those surrounding choice. We are each active participants in our own lives. We have the choice to quit our jobs. Learn a new language. Start our own business. Travel to a new place. Run a marathon. Ask for help. Practice meditation. We have the freedom to make whatever choice we want to make. With that perspective, all of our “have to’s” turn into “get to’s.” I don’t ever have to workout. I have an able and healthy body so I get to workout. I don’t have to go the grocery store and cook dinner. Eating whole foods is important to me so I get to cook an awesome meal at home. I don’t have to go to work today but I get to go to work today and hopefully make a small impact on someone. This is not a new, groundbreaking thing. But even just having this mindset has made my days feel so much lighter.

Before we move into this weekend, I wanted to share with you a few awesome things from my week in hope that it will inspire you to think of a few things you’ve been grateful for lately…

My first iced coffee of the year 🙂 I blended our cold brew with some almond milk and cinnamon for the perfect breakfast beverage.

img_0164-2Researching Michigan beach towns and Airbnb’s for a summer family getaway. I’ve never been to Michigan (slightly embarrassed to admit this) and I have been wanting to visit for years. I’m thinking  that South Haven, Grand Haven, or Muskegon will be best since they don’t take forever to get to and are supposed to be wonderful for food, beaches, and biking. Do you have any recommendations? Let me know!

Everything that is Trader Joe’s…their fresh flowers, great prices, friendly staff, and new products. I picked up this new buffalo ghee and loved it for sautéing kale!

The weather this weekend and a family dinner 🙂 The forecast is calling for sun and high 60’s and maybe even 70’s! I plan on getting outside for many walks, opening up the porch door and skylight for fresh air, and hopefully grilling out with the family on Saturday. Only the best things.

Loved reading these blog posts “on feeding your soul” and “when small talk isn’t so small after all.”

This podcast by Ben Bergeron. Tom introduced me to it and I’ve been enjoying listening to it while making lunch or doing things around the house. It’s not all about CrossFit, and this one in particular really resonated since it’s about not putting happiness on the other side of achievement. Happiness is found through gratitude, giving back, and having strong, meaningful relationships. It won’t be found after losing those ten pounds or getting that big promotion. It was a really good reminder for me this week.

I hope your weekend is full of fresh air, good company, and some wonderful rest too!

2 thoughts on “Friday things”

Leave a Reply

