Daily eats and healthy snacking with GoMacro

I hope you had a wonderful weekend! We totally lucked out with plenty of sunshine and warm temperatures both Saturday and Sunday. I made it to the farmer’s market, went home to my parents’ house to celebrate Mother’s Day with grilled burgers, took a bike ride, made scones, and read my book.

I realized how much I love reading other bloggers’ “daily eats” posts, so I thought it might be time to do one of my own. My days follow a pretty regular routine so I usually get into a groove with what I eat and what time I eat, but sometimes depending on the workout we did that day or if I’ve been on my feet longer that day training sessions, my hunger can vary. I always try to honor my hunger cues so if I’m hungry, I eat regardless of what time it is or even if I’ve eaten an hour ago. I love to cook and bake and I’m also on a budget, which means that I might eat one meal out a week, and the rest is made at home.

I typically get up around 7 am each day and if the weather is nice, I love to head out on a walk before breakfast. Fresh air first thing in the morning always gets the day going on a good note. When I get home, it’s breakfast time and I’m always ridiculously hungry.

Breakfast is usually 2-3 eggs (we picked up these eggs at our CrossFit gym since a member owns a local farm and she sells farm fresh eggs for only $10/3 dozen!), two pieces of Ezekiel bread, and an assortment of berries that I picked up at the grocery store. If we have bacon, I’ll have a couple of slices of that too. I usually drink water or sometimes cold brew coffee if I remembered to make some the night before.

And then of course there are days when I’m craving pancakes so I will whip up my favorite recipe (1/2 mashed banana, 1 egg, 1/4 c. greek yogurt or dairy-free yogurt, 1/2 c. oats, dash of cinnamon) and top it with tons of almond butter and berries.

After breakfast, I head upstairs to my “office” and plop myself in front of my laptop while I answer emails for work, program for my clients that day, slowly prep the month’s newsletter, and depending on the day, write a blog post.

Around 11 am, I get up and roll out my yoga mat and do some yoga before I head to the gym at noon. If I need to prep anything for dinner, I usually do that as well. Depending on the day, sometimes I’m hungry for a snack, and other days my breakfast did a great job of keeping me full.

Snacks always vary but I love these vegan chocolate chip cookies made with almond flour, coconut flour, almond butter, and maple syrup. They take no time to throw together and make a small batch. Sometimes I’ll grab one of these quickly or a banana or apple will do the trick too.

img_0195

If I haven’t baked anything over the weekend, sometimes I will pick up some bars at the grocery store to have on hand. I recently tried GoMacro bars and loved the fact that they were certified organic, GMO-free, gluten-free, and vegan. I also didn’t realize that they are family-owned and local to Wisconsin. GoMacro was founded in order to promote a healthy, sustainable lifestyle. The owner was diagnosed with breast cancer back in 2003, and after a lumpectomy, decided to forgo five years of Tamoxifen drug treatment and embrace the macrobiotic diet and lifestyle. As her health improved, she was inspired to find ways to bake her favorite sweets again without eggs, dairy, or refined sugars and flours. And so, GoMacro was born!

I love the core principles of this company and the fact that there are so many different flavors to choose from. The ingredients are clean and whole-foods based. Whether you need something pre or post-workout or just a quick snack while running to the next thing, it’s definitely a bar you can feel good about eating, especially if you have any dietary limitations. You can check out all their vegan protein bars right here!

img_0196

After the gym, I shower quickly and get ready to head into the studio to train clients. Lunch is usually around 2 pm and almost always a smoothie with almond milk, frozen banana and mango, frozen spinach, and a scoop of Amazing Grass chocolate peanut butter protein powder. Sometimes there are leftovers from dinner the night before but if not, I will make my own burrito-bowl with brown rice, avocado, chicken sausage, and hot sauce. I make brown rice several times a week so it’s always ready to go for lunch!

img_0194

I typically get home from work after 8 pm most nights of the week, so dinner is eaten pretty late. We always cook but I usually choose recipes that we can prep within 10-15 minutes and don’t take much time to cook. This night was rosemary chicken tenders along with a big salad. I will always go back for seconds of salad and this night, I think I had 3-4 chicken tenders along with a dijon mustard/honey/yogurt dipping sauce. So good. I try my hardest to make vegetables a part of lunch and dinner every day. Of course some days are better than others 🙂

img_0198

After dinner, if I’m craving something sweet, sometimes it’s another vegan chocolate chip cookie or a square or two of dark chocolate dipped in almond butter. The best.

This is a typical day-in-the-life for me! I don’t count calories or macros. I don’t follow paleo or Whole30. I don’t follow any “food rules” or try to limit the amount of carbs I eat. I just try my best to eat whole foods and support local and organic when I can. I pay attention to what my body is telling me and I don’t complicate matters. Michael Pollan said it best. “Eat food. Not too much. Mostly plants.”

Happy Monday to you!

(GoMacro did not sponsor this post 🙂 All opinions are 100% my own.)

1 thought on “Daily eats and healthy snacking with GoMacro”

Leave a Reply

