Friday favorites

mary oliver quotesource

It’s Friday morning and I hope that this post finds you while you are eating a big, delicious breakfast, drinking coffee (or your favorite breakfast beverage), and dreaming up plans for the weekend. The weather took a turn for the worse here in Madison unfortunately and we have no sun in the forecast but we do have a lot of rain, clouds, and cold temperatures. A bit of a bummer because everything I like to do is focused around being outside. So, I’ll have to be creative this weekend! What about for you? What’s going on for your weekend?

This week flew by actually and I have that feeling again of “life is moving way too quickly!”. As the weather warms up, I feel like everyone tries to take full advantage of it. We go on walks and bike rides, go to farmer’s markets, grill out with family and friends, travel more, make more plans, and try to enjoy this season as much as we possibly can. I think this is awesome, but it also makes time go by even quicker so it seems. I took a few walks this week and realized that I want to blog more. I was hit with inspiration for some new blog posts that I’m looking forward to putting together for you. I was also thinking about what the heck I’m going to do with my life. A pretty ambiguous question but one I ask myself a whole lot. Do you find yourself asking this question a lot too? I can’t decide if it’s a good thing or a bad thing. Maybe it’s neither. But regardless, I found this beautiful print of Mary Oliver’s quote (“Tell me, what is it you plan to do with your one wild and precious life?”) and only wish I could answer that question! Right now, God only knows. But I do know that I want to share these favorites with you from the week 🙂


2017 Summer Reading Guide // Scrolling through this guide completely inspired me! I am just finishing up a book now and can’t wait to dive into something new!

Top 5 Christian Podcasts // I’ve been absent from church the past couple of weeks. My excuse? I want to be outside instead. Not a good excuse at all. A terrible one actually. I’ll get my butt back to church this Sunday, but in the time being, I love listening to sermons while on a walk by myself. I started doing this back when I was living in South Korea and it brought me such an amazing sense of calm and purpose. I wanted to explore other Christian podcasts this week and stumbled upon this post. I thought I’d share it with you if you are in search of one too.

Overland Travel: How Ryan drove from Seattle to South America // I hate driving as well as being a passenger for a long period of time. I would never want to do this much driving. However, his story is still awesome. I love reading stories about others’ travels and how they went against the grain of traditional expectations.

Season 2 of Master of None // Aziz Ansari is fantastic and I think I love season 2 of his Netflix original series even more than the first season. It’s light-hearted and has beautiful scenes of Modena, Italy and of course, New York City. A perfect series to start up this summer! Have you watched yet?

Old Dominion on Spotify // I love their upbeat album and like listening to it in the mornings while I work at my computer. Summertime and country music always go hand-in-hand for me so I don’t listen to much else. 🙂

Alright, that’s all for me this morning. Happy Friday to you and I hope you have a lovely weekend!

Leave a comment