Weekend recap and what I’m looking forward to

It’s Monday morning already and I’m so very happy to see the sunshine peak through the skylight in our loft.

Unfortunately the sun didn’t make an appearance at all this weekend so it was a bit of a slower weekend since we weren’t out and about as much as we like to be when the weather is nice.

Saturday we got up and headed to our CrossFit gym to join the 9 am workout. The workout was way harder than I expected it to be but it was still fun to move, do some Olympic weightlifting, and see some people we don’t usually see during the week!

Snatch: 3 @ 50%, 3 @ 60%, 2 @ 70%, 2 @ 75%, 5 sets X 1 rep (working up to heavy)

WOD: 4 rds (20 min time cap)

500 m row

15 pullups

30 pushups

45 squats

After the workout we made breakfast: smoothie with almond milk/frozen banana and mango/frozen spinach/and scoop of Amazing Grass chocolate peanut butter protein powder. Along with some eggs and Ezekiel toast with this amazing apple ginger jam we got at the farmer’s market last weekend. Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day and I love eating everything.

Then we headed to Target to grab some things for the apartment and headed back home to finish up some cleaning. Since the weather was cold and rainy, it was perfect to get cozy, watch some of the CrossFit Regionals online, and take a quick nap.

Tom and I got out for a quick walk around the pond before dinner. I invited my sister over and we ate stuffed peppers with cauliflower rice (one of our staples) and then headed over to Ella’s Deli for some ice cream. I had not been to Ella’s Deli since I was maybe ten years old so it was fun to go again and reminisce!

Sunday morning began with lots of coffee and a big breakfast at home: bacon/eggs/toast/and lots of berries. I started some laundry and then we headed to church which was a lovely service. It felt good to get back to church since I hadn’t been in two weeks and I was also able to catch up a bit with my friend who sings in their praise band.

We all decided we needed to have more time to chat so we got together for walk around Owen Park Conservancy that afternoon. It was cloudy and rather chilly but the fresh air still felt nice and afterwards, we headed back to her house to take a look at how Tom and I want to arrange our ceremony outside. We are getting married outside in a big, open area right next to the church. I have absolutely no idea what will work best as far as set-up goes, so I’m going to let her take the lead on that one. My sister and I also got to snuggle her son, Jude, for a bit too. He’s two and is usually running all over the place but he hadn’t taken a nap that day and was super tired, therefore, he put up with us trying to snuggle him. It was glorious.

The rest of Sunday was spent doing some odds and ends–banking, reading, watching Netflix. We cooked dinner (skillet chicken parmesan with a big salad), drank a bit of wine, and headed up to bed around 9 pm.

It was a lovely, slow weekend over here. How about for you? As we head into this week, I’m looking forward to writing a blog post for Friday, eating some delicious meals we have on the menu for the week, getting into a new book, and doing some tough workouts at CrossFit Madtown. Memorial Day weekend is just around the corner and we have some fun stuff planned that I’m looking forward to as well!

I hope you have a great start to your week!

Leave a Reply

