Friday thoughts

My sister sent me this article on Wednesday afternoon and it made me wonder when the last time was I turned my phone off for three days and truly unplugged for awhile.

I realized the answer was never. I have never turned my phone off for days. Not checked my email. Not scrolled through Instagram. Not checked my feedly and read blog posts or pinned recipes onto my Pinterest board. Not once since I bought my first smart phone which was about four years ago. There is something very wrong with that. I mean, how is that possible? How have I never gone off the grid for even a day?

The purpose of the article was to show that after three days of no screen time and getting out in nature, our frontal cortex gets a much-needed break from the day-to-day hustle and constant emails, texts, and notifications. When this happens, other areas of our brain can start to take over so we’ll notice things with a better acuity and it will also allow our brains to do something it doesn’t get the chance to do very often; daydream. When we go back to our regular jobs and obligations after spending these days in nature with no phone, an almost 50% bump in creativity was noted in the study.

After I read this, I was inspired. At the end of the week, I feel pretty fried. I was born with a type-A personality and I’m constantly running around, checking off to-do’s, and not allowing myself to read, write a blog post, rest, or do anything I actually want to do unless my work is done. With that being said, I often experience a block in creativity, anxiety, and suffer from constant worrying. Maybe leaving my phone behind and spending three days in nature is exactly what I need this summer.

How about for you? When was the last time you turned your phone off for awhile and spent some time in the great outdoors? If your answer is the same as mine, I hope you are inspired to take a weekend this summer to do just that.

Here’s to our first Friday in June! Hope it’s a great one!

3 thoughts on “Friday thoughts”

  1. Wonderful! So glad the article inspired you. Here’s to leaving my phone behind when we go to Michigan! I’m going to have so much time on my hands πŸ™‚

  2. Last year when we went on a cruise..it was a little odd at 1st,and created a little anxiety but finding different ways to fill your time, your creativity does unblock! Here’s to finding your creativity! Because I know you have a ton of it!

    1. So lovely to hear from you Diane! I hope you are well πŸ™‚ think of you often! I’m thinking about unplugging when we head to Michigan for a long weekend at the end of the month πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

