Friday things

Last Sunday after Tom had gotten home from his drill weekend up at Fort McCoy for the National Guard, we had to head downtown to re-certify for CPR. There were only four of us in the class so we were able to test out our skills quickly and then enjoy the rest of our evening. Since we were downtown and it was a perfect summer night, we took a walk around a cute neighborhood that I’ve been wanting to explore. I snapped these photos as the sun was setting.
img_0224As we walked, I felt very grateful to be living in a beautiful city. I love everything that Madison has to offer and the countless things to do on the weekends. I also love that my two oldest friends live here as well as my sister. We have joined a wonderful CrossFit gym and have met amazing friends through that community. As we continued on our walk, I practiced being grateful.

Gratitude isn’t something that comes easily to me. In fact, anyone who knows me well knows I’m a fantastic complainer. I like to wallow in that sh*t. I love to make myself the victim and feel real f*cking bad for myself. This week was a perfect example. I felt bad for myself every day. And that’s exhausting to do. I can’t tell you how annoyed I get when I hear my clients complain about the workout I’m having them do. We hear every excuse in the book and yesterday I wanted to throw my hands in the f*cking air and walk out the door. I couldn’t take all the complaining and excuses anymore. But you know what? I might not bitch and moan about a workout, but I certainly bitch and moan about a whole lot of other things. And I’m calling myself out right now. Enough is enough. So I’m going to head into the weekend with a new mindset and start practicing gratitude one day at a time. Alright, done with the ranting. Here are some things I wanted to share with you from the week 🙂

listened to this podcast while doing a few things around the apartment in the morning and I loved everything Robyn had to say about finding your body’s set point, letting go of constant control over your diet and weight, throwing out the scale, and intuitive eating.

can’t get enough of this summer reading list

one life-changing question to ask yourself–this has stuck with me since last week and I’m still thinking about it.

this post: on living your unicorn life

also, everything about this post from one of my favorite blogs, pinch of yum. Their success as a food blog is nothing short of spectacular.

img_0225

Happy weekend to you!

4 thoughts on “Friday things”

  1. You must be good at hiding your negative side, I don’t recall you being anything but a positive force. As a trainer, you always knew when to believe in me , when I was unsure of my own abilities. .you train not only bodies,but our minds,cultivating confidence. I’m grateful for you! I miss your delightful laugh and smile ☺ hey I’m still following you via your blog!

    1. Diane! Why are you always the sweetest? I miss you dearly!! Thank you for reading and leaving me comments 🙂 it makes my day to hear from you! I hope you have a great weekend and enjoy this beautiful weather!

  2. Honest post. Beautiful photos. I also love that neighborhood and agree that gratitude is SO important!

    You are a great trainer who is good at pushing people toward being stronger and more fit everyday! You are on my list of people I am grateful for! 🙂

    1. Erin, you are a gem and I am so thankful for clients like you who make my job so easy and so fun! Thank you for reading and I hope you have a wonderful weekend!

Leave a Reply

